X hits on this document





5 / 12

JUNE 2008

News from IEEE Engineering in Medicine and

Biology Society. An integral part of the mission of the Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is to identify and recognize exceptional work in the profession of Engineering in Medicine and Biology. Annually, EMBS announces the recipients of the Society's Awards for Excellence. The EMBS is pleased to announce the 2008 EMBS Award Recipients. Please join the EMBS in congratulating the Awardees!

2008 EMBS Service Award

Henrietta "Mimi" Galiana McGill University

2008 EMBS Career Achievement Award

"For visionary leadership of EMBS and broadening of its mandate to include all areas of biomedical and biological sciences"

Roger Barr Duke University

"For outstanding pioneering contributions to the field of Bioelectricity and leadership in biomedical engineering"

Troy Nagle Receives Holladay Medal

The North Carolina State University Board of Trustees has awarded the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence to Troy Nagle in recognition of his outstanding career at N.C. State.

2008 EMBS Early Career Achievement Award

Troy is a Past President of IEEE, an IEEE Fellow, EiC of the IEEE Sensors Journal and an active EMBS member.

Ali Khademhosseini Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"For contributions at the interface between engineering, biomaterials and biological sciences. In particular, the application of micro- and nanoengineered biomaterials and surface modification approaches for biomedicine"

EMBS also would like to thank all election candidates for their willingness to serve the Society on the Administrative Committee (AdCom). The "newest" AdCom Members will begin their term on January 1, 2009 and end December 31, 2011. Please join the EMB in welcoming the new AdCom Representatives!

Asia – Pacific Makoto Yoshizawa

Please visit our website at http://www.ieee.org/women

Page 5

Document info
Document views47
Page views47
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 17:04:16 UTC 2017