X hits on this document

29 views

0 shares

0 downloads

0 comments

1 / 8

GRACE N TES

Vol. 24. No. 5

May 2008

Pack Your Basket!

What is so rare as a day in May? A picnic on a day in May and we’re having one! So, liberate your picnic basket from whichever closet it has wintered over in and pack it up with all the things you like to have at a fun party outdoors*. That will certainly include some favorite foods, since this is a potluck picnic. (Sounds like a tongue twister.) There will be grills available for hot dogs, hamburgers, and the like. As is our custom, tableware, the usual condiments, ice, and drinks will be provided – attendees bring the appetiz- ers, entrees (with breads as required), sides/salads, and desserts. If you’ve gotan easy-up canopy, fold- ing chair, portable table, hammock, or umbrella, this is the type of occasion you bought them for, so bring ‘em. Got a fun party game? Bring that, too, invites chair Debbie Sellmans- berger, even though she has arranged some delightful, insightful entertain- ment. To expand and re-enforce the topic presented at our April meeting, Debbie has invited some folks with muzzle-loaded weapons to come and demonstrate their firearms and invites any of us who have such & want to

show them off to do so also. (The picnic is WAY out of town where gunfire is permitted.) To support the topic which will be presented at our May meeting, Debbie has orchestrated (wink, wink, nudge, nudge) some local bluegrass musicians to come and share their distinctive music, and anyone who wishes is encouraged to bring along their instruments (bagpipes especially) and favorite bluegrass songs to j’in in.

*Where? At the Sellmansbergers’s country estate in Pipertown. (See map below. Easy to get to, tho’ it are a fur piece out there.) When? Satur-

day, May 17th from 11 am to 3 pm (or whenever we wake up from our postprandial naps.) The ‘do’ will go on rain or shine, although we’ll move it inside if it’s inclement and yes, Joe, Debbie, & Robert have plenty of room for us all in their house. Cain’t hardly wait? Well, mark your calendar now and start planning what to bring, because this event is gonna be fun, fun, fun.

Memphis Scottish Society, Inc. Board

President John Schultz . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 754-2419 john.schultz@memphisscots.com Vice President Debbie Sellmansberger . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 289-2141 debbie.sellmansberger@memphisscots.com Treasurer Tom Lewis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 861-6640 tom.lewis@memphisscots.com

Secretary Mary Clausi. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 753-9494 mary.clausi@memphisscots.com Members at Large Sue Malone . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 385-1938 sue.malone@memphisscots.com Jackie Garner . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 386-3269 jackie.garner@memphisscots.com Mary Ann Lucas . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 725-1879 maryann.lucas@memphisscots.com

www

.

m

e

mp

h

i

s

s

c

  • o

    t

s

.

c

  • o

    m

Document info
Document views29
Page views29
Page last viewedSun Dec 04 10:55:17 UTC 2016
Pages8
Paragraphs256
Words4036

Comments