X hits on this document





16 / 41

Compliance with Five Year CAPTA Plan Report, 2007 (continued)

Update on Implementation of Strategies in 2007

Strategy: Convene an advisory committee of stakeholders to evaluate screening criteria and create culturally informed child maltreatment screening criteria that are effectively, appropriately and consistently used by all county child protection agencies statewide.


The advisory committee consisted of county, state and community stakeholders, including a Citizen Review Panel member, and began meeting in March 2006. Clear, consistent statewide screening standards and guidelines were developed. The culturally informed screening criteria for response to reports of child abuse and neglect were added to the department’s Web page for child welfare supervisors in County Link in 2007. The link is: http://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Legacy/DHS-5144-ENG.

The Minnesota Child Maltreatment Screening Guidelines provide direction to county social service agencies, promote statewide consistency in definition and practice, and inform the public about types of child safety concerns that may constitute child maltreatment. These guidelines were developed by a broad-based team of state, county, tribal, court and community partners and are based on Minnesota Statute 626.556, Reporting of Maltreatment of Minors Act.

Strategy: Develop and deliver training for mandated and voluntary reporters, including a continuum of responses to reports of maltreatment. Information provided to mandated and voluntary reporters should now be consistent throughout the state.


An updated resource guide for mandated reporters (August 2006) developed by the department’s Child Safety and Permanency Division, Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect, is on the DHS Web site. Copies are available by calling (651) 431-3502 or fax, (651) 431-7476. Ask for publication #2917.

An updated mandated reporter training curriculum was added to the department’s County Link Web site in 2007. The PowerPoint presentation, Reporting Maltreatment, has six modules:

  • History, Law, Minnesota System, Demographics

  • Poverty, Neglect and Racial Disparities

  • Mandated Reporting, Who, What, Where, When, Why

  • Physical Abuse

  • Child Sexual Abuse

  • Neglect.

The link to the Web page is: http://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_FILE&RevisionSelectionMethod=Late stReleased&Rendition=Primary&allowInterrupt=1&dDocName=dhs16_139112

The Mandated Reporter Training Curriculum was recently updated by DHS. This resource assists county and tribal social service professionals in educating stakeholders about child abuse and neglect, the roles and responsibilities of mandated reporters, and the process for making child maltreatment reports.


Document info
Document views150
Page views150
Page last viewedTue Jan 24 07:20:47 UTC 2017