X hits on this document





23 / 35

Accreditation of ICT Suppliers


To manage and deliver the ICT Supplier Standard on a self-financing basis beyond the contract period of 2009 to March 2011  - for a minimum of three years. This is to include marketing the whole programme to both ICT businesses and end-user organisations and associated professional bodies.

N.B. Applicants are required to produce a business model to demonstrate the ability of the successful contractor to maintain the viability of the Standard. This should include both hard outputs such as businesses enrolled in the programme and soft outputs relating to the number and types of end-user organisations from the private and public sector together with professional bodies to be engaged in supporting the Standard as part of their procurement practices.


Develop three new segments of accreditation for ICT suppliers including all documentation and work books etc to match and complement the existing product. There are three main components to the ICT Supplier Standard:

Designing  the new segments of the Standard including developing the associated process and material including the training of assessors, guidance and model answer documentation to the level and format provided for the existing segments

Test and piloting the extended Standard in the West Midlands

Marketing  the Standard to prospective end-user organisations and professional bodies who procure ICT products and services

See below for further information on the above.


Project manage the project to:

ensure the hard and soft outputs identified are achieved

all records are maintained in a form as required by AWM’s Projects and Contracts (P&C) manager and are submitted on a monthly basis or otherwise as agreed with the P&C manager

Liaise with the existing organisation delivering the current phase of the ICT Supplier Standard to ensure that the project is fully operational and no loss of momentum is experienced during the handover period.

Designing the standard

The process of developing the Standard has, as stated previously, already resulted in the categorisation of the ICT sector into 9 segments based on activity type. (The Standard Industrial Classification - ‘SIC code’ - system is inappropriate for segmenting the ICT sector. Its classification scheme frequently includes activities that are not ICT related).

Both the Regeneris and Spearmint reports provide the evidence that the Standard addresses the root causes outlined in Section 3. However, only three segments of the ICT industry are covered (covering 40% of ICT businesses in the region) by the Standard at present.  This project will enable another three segments of the sector to benefit from this project, permitting some 85 percent of the industry to have access to this certification in their specialism.   

The additional segments of the Standard identified to be developed as part of the project are Solutions Design & Development, New Media & e-Commerce, and Information Assurance. In addition, the role of the consultants and how they support the process, which in turn develops their

Advantage West Midlands Form ADV-09 Issue 02INVITATION TO TENDERPage 23 of 35

Document info
Document views126
Page views126
Page last viewedTue Jan 17 08:07:18 UTC 2017