X hits on this document





24 / 35

Accreditation of ICT Suppliers

training and accreditation programme, is integrated within the design phase of the Standard.

The three segments that will not be covered by the standard are: ICT Goods Manufacturing & Repair; Wholesale, Trade & Distribution and Information & Broadcast Services. The first two are not required to be funded because they address specialisms that are not of strategic importance to the region whilst the latter is covered by other and more appropriate standards already.

Testing and piloting

The specialist segments will then need to be tested and piloted within the West Midlands in order to prove that the process of attaining the Standard (the work books, consultancy advice, etc) is robust and efficient. Businesses will be involved in the development work to ensure that the Standard is properly aligned with the business needs of the specialist area and that the workbook uses appropriate language and terminology.

The piloting aspect of the Standard requires a substantial number of businesses of all sizes to go through the certification process to prove the methodology, workbook, consultant’s role and awarding panel are robust and appropriate.  

The completion of the three segments will then provide approximately 85% of the ICT sector with the tools to become ‘fit for purpose’ by providing objective and appropriate advice; give end-users confidence of buying the right solution; create a marketing edge for West Midlands businesses by providing a ‘kite mark’; address barriers to managing the innovation and international trade processes, and; provide the financial sector with evidence of objective and independent ‘due diligence’.

Marketing the Standard

The Standard will be marketed to a range of organisations to assist in creating market demand by both the target market (ICT SMEs) and to potential end-user organisations. The use of third party organisations such as ITAS will also be addressed as part of the marketing strategy to both disseminate the project to potential applicants and to procurers of ICTs. The marketing will address local, regional and national organisations reflecting the need to ensure that Standard is seen as a national certification programme and therefore providing regional ICT SMEs with a competitive edge being the first to attain the Standard.


Applicants must provide in their tender document the following:


What steps would be taken to understand the potential impact of the contract on different equality groups and communities including, race, gender, age and disability? Applicants are to furnish the steps they propose to maximise positive impact and/or to minimise any negative impact?


What steps would be taken to minimise the negative impact on the environment, including its carbon footprint when delivering the contract.


Confirmation that they will follow Advantage West Midland’s procurement and commissioning policies when sub-contracting work to third party organisations. A copy of the guidance notes is included in the Appendices. If applicants are intending to submit a proposal utilising the resources of another organisation(s) this must be stated within their tender documentation. If two or more organisations are intending to collaborate in delivering the contract, then the lead applicant must be clearly identified and the answers provided to the questions on Standards must cover all parties involved in delivering the contract.

Advantage West Midlands will only contract with one organisation. The contracted organisation will be responsible for ensuring that any partner(s) conforms to all of the requirements stated both in the tender specification documents and in any subsequent contract documents issued by Advantage West Midlands. Should any issues arise from the

Advantage West Midlands Form ADV-09 Issue 02INVITATION TO TENDERPage 24 of 35

Document info
Document views138
Page views138
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 09:54:41 UTC 2017