X hits on this document

Word document

Recommended by Mr. Brandenburg - page 22 / 30





22 / 30

it. That’s why I can’t give it any stars at all – I didn’t read it. Some folks really like it, though.


Sphereland : A Fantasy About Curved Spaces and an Expanding Universe. By Dionys Burger. (International, 1982) Teen-Adult. "Sphereland, the sequel to Flatland, is a great book to help one expand one's mind. This book is a satire, a geometry lesson, and a good exercise for the mind. Sphereland is also useful for helping one to think outside of the box, and the universe for that matter. This book stretches the confines of your mind and imagination."


Surreal Numbers: How Two EX-Students Turned on to Pure Mathematics and Found Total Happiness: A Mathematical Novelette.  By Donald Knuth.(Addison Wesley, 128 pp, 1982, reprinted many times) Teen-adult. "An astonishing feat of legerdemain. An empty hat rests on a table made of a few axioms of standard set theory. Conway waves two simple rules in the air, then reaches into almost nothing and pulls out an infinitely rich tapestry of numbers that form a real and closed field. Every real number is surrounded by a host of new numbers that lie closer to it than any other "real" value does. The system is truly 'surreal.'"


Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture. By Apostolos Doxiadis. (Bloomsbury, 224 pp,  2001) Teen-Adult. “I'd … recommend it to those who like literature and mathematics with some history thrown in. A mathematical conjecture unsolved for two centuries; a mathematical genius uncle driven mad trying to solve it; an ambiguous relation with a mathematically-minded nephew; and acute human observation all come together in Uncle Petros to make a very funny, tender, charming and, to my mind, irresistable novel. In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession."



The Book of Numbers. By John Horton Conway and Richard K. Guy. (Copernicus/Springer-Verlag, 310 pp, 1996) GFBR ****. HS-Adult. "A fascinating review of numbers: from Egyptian fractions to surreal numbers; prime numbers, Fibonacci numbers, Catalan numbers, Fermat numbers; from numbers so large they cannot be imagined (and barely be named) to ruler-and-compass.



Magick, Mayhen, and Mavericks: The Spirited History of Physical Chemistry. By Cathy Cobb. (Prometheus, 420 pp, 2002) HS-Adult. “Cobb, a physics teacher, conveys a contagious enthusiasm for the rarely celebrated but vital science of physical chemistry, which explains and predicts molecular structure and the behavior of chemicals at the atomic scale. She traces the history of the discipline by focusing on the exceptionally gifted – and sometimes odd – characters who made key contributions to the field, including Antoine Lavoisier, Michael Faraday, and Max Planck.”



1, 2, 3, Infinity: Facts and Speculations of Science. George Gamow (Dover, 335 pp, reprint) GFBR ***** Teen-adult. "This book changed lives around the world. Many of us began our journey into science and mathematics with this book. The reviews at the other book site show how many of us were changed in our young lives by this book. Buy it for every child you know."  This book has been in print for over 50 years, because it's really, really GOOD.


Alice in Quantumland: An Allegory of Quantum Physics By Robert Gilmore. (Copernicus, 184 pp, 1995) General audiences. Told in the same way as Alice in Wonderland and a hint of

Science and Math Books You Can Read – page 22 out of 30

Document info
Document views34
Page views34
Page last viewedSat Oct 22 16:13:08 UTC 2016