X hits on this document





3 / 12

AWARDS and INSTALLATION BANQUET . . . continued from page 1

Tom Busboom started the after-dinner festivities by welcoming all to the 2009 Awards Banquet. He turned the podium over to Steve Wobken and Matt Biggs, Co- chairs of the Awards Committee, for presentation of the Nebraska Chapter of ACI Awards of Excellence (for the Use of Concrete in the State of Nebraska) for the year 2008. Steve congratulated our 2008 ACI Nebraska Chapter award winners and outlined the criterion for the Awards of Excellence for the use of concrete in the State of Nebraska, then Steve moved to the computer to control the power point presentation.

Matt went on to present an Award of Excellence-Outstanding Achievement to The State Department of Roads in Nebraska and South Dakota for the Discovery Bridge, that spans the Missouri river connecting Nebraska and South Dakota. Matt went on to present an Outstanding Achievement Award to Grand Island Northwest High School for a parking Lot Improvement.

Steve presented an Award of Excellence for the use of Concrete in the State of Nebraska to The Golden Spike Tower and Visitors Center, an attraction for visitors to view the Union Pacific Bailey Yards, the world’s largest classification yard at North Platte, Nebraska. Steve followed up with an Award of Excellence for a new 135,000 square foot Middle School for the Hastings Public School District. The last Award of Excellence was presented to the City of Lincoln for the Harris Overpass, the western gateway to Lincoln.

A Laser-engraved walnut plaque was presented to the owner and certificates were presented to the Architects, Engineers, Contractors and Concrete Producers. See article on the AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE elsewhere in this newsletter.

At the conclusion of this portion of the Awards program Steve thanked everyone who had submitted an entry, and turned the podium over to Dick DeLorm for the presentation of Scholarships from the Education Committee. Scholarships

Nebraska Chapter ACI page 3

were presented to Derrick T. Krienert, an undergraduate student at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln and Lance Hooper and Sean Denning, undergraduate and Graduate students, respectively, at the University of Nebraska in Omaha. See article on Education Committee.

Scholarship recipients, L to R: Derrick Krienert, Lance Hooper and Sean Denning, with Dr. DeLorm, Chair of the

Education Committee.

For more about the scholarship recipients, see page 5.

Tom Busboom took some time to thank those who supported him in his tenure as Chapter President and recognized the 2008 board and officers and thanked them for their service this past year. Tom introduced Bob Irwin as the new president of the Nebraska Chapter of ACI.

Tom passed the gavel to Bob who, as his first official act as president, presented Tom Busboom with a Past President’s


Bob Irwin

President Elect

Steve Wobken

Vice President

Michael Gerdes


Dale Mueller


Michael Willman

Past President

Tom Busboom

Bob Irwin introduced the newly elected slate of officers:

The newly elected board members are:

Aaron Luth

Joe Menard

These board members join Jereme Montgomery (replaces Dale Mueller who is our new Chapter Secretary), Matt Biggs, Larry Schmidt and Randy Lane. They along with Dick DeLorm, will form the new 2009 Board.

Entertainment was provided by the comedy of Mr. Austin Anderson, to round out the evening.

Document info
Document views36
Page views36
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 15:31:37 UTC 2017