X hits on this document

PDF document

Design: Rick Swan Editing: Elizabeth Danforth Black and White Art: Terry Dykstra Color Art: Julie ... - page 143 / 157





143 / 157

else. Typical obsessions include destroying a species enemy, revenge on an overlord who illegally annexed his territory, or locating a animal believed to be extinct. Though an obsessed ranger may function effectively within his party, the party=s objectives are always secondary to his own. Often, such a character will mature out of the obsession as the campaign continues.

Irritable, grim, passionate, anxious, determined, tireless. Explorer, Giant Killer, Justifier, Sea Ranger.

As explained in Chapter 2 of the

, rangers gain

experience much like other warriors. Table 59 summarizes their standard experience awards.

Per hit die of creatures defeated


Monster experience Other group experience

Typ* Typ*

= Typical share of experience, as described in the


Table 59 is fine as far as it goes, but for those using the guidelines in this book, it may not go far enough. If the DM decides that a little more detail is needed when determining experience awards for rangers, he may decide to use Table 60 to award experience points instead DM.

Per spell level cast to overcome foes or

problems, or further ethos* Per successful use of special ability


(class or kit) Per Hit Die of creatures defeated Per Hit Die of species enemy

100 10/level

defeated Follower, per trick or task trained Monster experience Other group experience

20/level** 100 Typ*** Typ***

  • *

    Like priests, rangers gain experience for using spells to promote their philosophies

and principles. A ranger who's accepted the responsibility of protecting a forest would

not gain experience for using


to coerce an woodcutter into

finding some tasty fruit, but he would gain experience for using the spell to ensure the

Document info
Document views583
Page views583
Page last viewedSat Jan 21 20:10:44 UTC 2017