X hits on this document





154 / 352

The Greatest Show on EarthIndian Nations Council

Arrangement:Room is in darkness. Leader introduces Webelos Scout(s) who are receiving Arrow of Light, and explains they have met the requirements to receive the highest award in Cub Scouting.

Leader:The purpose of Cub Scouting is to light the way to Scouting. The first rank in Cub Scouting is Bobcat. (Turn on first light). Before becoming a Bobcat he learns the Cub Scout Promise, the Law of the Pack, knows the Cub Scout sign, handshake, motto and salute. The rank for eight year old Cub Scouts is Wolf. (Turn on second light). Twelve achievements are required to earn the Wolf badge. Then he works on Arrow Points until he is nine years old. He can earn as many Arrow Points as time and ambition will allow. Twelve achievements are also required for the Bear badge. (Turn on third light). You can see that as a boy progresses in Cub Scouting, his way becomes lighter. After receiving his Bear badge, he works on Arrow Points until he is ten years old.

Now he is ten and becomes a Webelos Scout. (Turn on fourth light). Webelos Scouts do not earn cloth badges. They wear the Webelos tri-colors on their sleeve and work on Activity Badges which are metal pins. Webelos is the secret name for "We'll Be Loyal Scouts" and it is the name of the Indian tribe of which Akela is Chief. The Webelos Scout is older....he can do more for himself. His parents no longer sign for his advancement....his Webelos Leader does this. He works on the Arrow of Light Award. (Turn on fifth light) To receive this award, he must earn the Citizen Activity Badge and at least two more of four specific badges. (Turn sixth light)

Ceremonies, Recognitions and AwardsPage X

Document info
Document views1457
Page views1457
Page last viewedTue Jan 17 15:16:43 UTC 2017