X hits on this document





7 / 28

Iowa State University

The College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University selected and hired a new dean in April  2009.  The new dean is Dr. Pamela White from Food Science and Human Nutrition at ISU who had been serving as interim dean for a year.  Two new associate deans have been appointed to take over the undergraduate education and graduate education administrative duties.  The associate dean for Extension, Janeann Stout has retired.  Plans for her replacement are in progress.

The Helen LeBaron Hilton Chair for 2008-2009 was Dr. Gloria Ladson-Billings, an expert on teacher education training, minority student and faculty success, and critical race theory at the University of Wisconsin, Madison.  She visited Iowa State University several times during spring semester 2009 to contribute to seminars, classes, and workshops as well as give public and class lectures and work with individual faculty and graduate students.  The 2009-2010 Helen LeBaron Chair is Jeanne Hogarth, the program manager for the consumer education and research section of the Division of Consumer and Community Affairs of the Federal Reserve Board.  Hogarth is focusing on consumer financial literacy during her visits to Iowa State University.

The Apparel, Educational Studies, and Hospitality Management Department (AESHM) will resume search this fall for an endowed chair—the Noma Scott Lloyd Chair in Textiles and Clothing.  The Department is searching for a candidate to fill the professor-level position with a focus on technology and textiles and apparel but may also consider junior scholar (associate professor) applicants for the position.  The Department hired two new faculty in hotel and restaurant management who joined the department this fall in the consumer behavior and finance areas.  The consumer behavior hire is currently teaching the introductory AESHM merchandising course.  Progress to implement coordination across the department’s hotel and apparel programs has been progressing substantially in new courses related to merchandising, management, finance, and internet business processes that relate to both fields.

Sara Kadolph was named the first Donna R. Danielson Professor in Textiles and Clothing, a professorship made possible by alum and professor emeritus Donna Danielson’s estate. For this academic year, Sara will concentrate on boosting the visibility and recognition of the Textiles and Clothing Museum, as well as continue to work with the TC historic and ethnic textile storage facility and the Danielson conservation lab.

Linda Niehm was honored with the Rossman-Manatt Scholar award.  The Human Sciences College award honors Linda’s dedication to and accomplishments in integrating her research and teaching in the small business and entrepreneurship area.

Five students from Dong-Hua University in Shanghai, P.R. China, joined the TC graduate program as a result of our new arrangement with Dong-Hua.  Two of the students are part of the joint Masters program with the apparel science program at Dong-Hua.  Two of their students have entered our Ph.D. program, and one student entered our regular Masters program.  We are currently developing a distance graduate program with Pretoria University, South Africa.

The university is currently grappling with an additional 10% budget decrease recently called for by the governor of Iowa.  Cuts in state appropriated funds may take place in January 2010.  Increases in faculty teaching loads and reduction in graduate student support are particularly at risk in the AESHM Department.  Cuts of 10% for fall 2009 were alleviated in part by funding from the federal stimulus package.

Document info
Document views119
Page views122
Page last viewedMon Jan 23 07:27:21 UTC 2017