X hits on this document

PDF document

2014-2015 Educational DVD Catalog - page 7 / 40





7 / 40


Host: William Ambrose Features:

  • Closed Captioned

  • High-Definition

  • Educators Guide

  • Timeline

3 Programs - Series $49.99 Run time: 29 minutes each

George Bernard Shaw

James Joyce

Samuel Beckett




"Irish authors are celebrated in literary pub crawls, bronze statues, and landmarks in Ireland, according to host William Ambrose, who sets the historical stage in this sweeping introduction to "Ireland's greatest authors and their impact on world litera- ture." The chronologically arranged three-program study begins with The Classics, which highlights the Celtic oral tradition in medieval Ireland before moving on to authors Jonathan Swift, Oliver Goldsmith, Oscar Wilde, and Bram Stoker. Next, Early 20th Century Authors introduces playwright George Bernard Shaw and poets and novelists William Butler Yeats, James Joyce, Sean O'Casey, and Liam O'Flaherty. The final program, The New Wave, showcases Samuel Beckett, Dame Iris Murdoch, and C. S. Lewis, among others, including Frank McCourt and Seamus Heaney. Costumed reen- actments, contemporary footage, artifacts, maps, paintings, drawings, photographs, film clips, and excerpted readings enliven this survey. With short, well-captioned segments and fast pacing, this title is a good companion to Great Authors of the British Isles (also available from Ambrose) for students" - Booklist (Recommended)


Home to acclaimed authors, including four Nobel Prize laureates, Ireland has given the world a rich body of literature. Great Irish Authors, hosted by Ambrose Video Publishing's founder William Ambrose, focuses on the great Irish tradition of story- telling, including the plays of Oscar Wilde, George Bernard Shaw, and Samuel Beckett; the satire of Jonathan Swift; the poetry of William Butler Yeats and Seamus Heaney; and the novels of James Joyce, Bram Stoker and Frank McCourt. These Irish authors and others have changed the course of world literature. Shot in HD in Ireland, this series presents a clear and penetrating historical analysis of Ireland's greatest authors and their impact on world literature.

Program 1: The Classics Literacy came to Ireland in the 5th Century along with Christianity, and for the next two hundred years it was the repository of Christian writing and thought. Program one examines Irish litera- ture from its beginnings in medieval Ireland, to its transition from Irish Gaelic to English, to the Irish literary tradition of satire, and finally to the rich and brilliant words of Oscar Wilde and Bram Stoker.

  • -

    5th Century AD - St. Patrick's Prayer

  • -

    1726 - Gulliver's Travels, the First Great Irish Novel

  • -

    1766 - Oliver Goldsmith Publishes The Vicar of Wakefield

  • -

    1891 - Oscar Wilde's The Picture of Dorian Gray is Published

  • -

    1897 - Bram Stoker Introduces Dracula to the World

Program 2: Early 20th Century Authors In the first half of the 20th century, Irish character and identity became fully separate from their English-influenced past. Program two investigates how Ireland's turbulent early 20th century history also spawned a great Irish literary revival.

  • -

    1913 - George Bernard Shaw's Pygmalion is Performed

  • -

    1916 - W.B. Yeats, Father of the Irish Literary Revival

  • -

    1922 - James Joyce, Ulysses

  • -

    1923 - Sean O'Casey Begins the Dublin Trilogy

  • -

    1925 - Liam O'Flaherty Wins the James Tait Black Memorial Prize

Program 3: The New Wave As World War II came and went, a new cadre of Irish authors emerged onto the world stage. Program three examines how they distinguished themselves in every literary genre, from children's literature to Nobel prize-winning novels, plays and poetry.

  • -

    1941 - Brian O'Nolan Writes an Irish Language Novel

  • -

    1953 - Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot Premieres

  • -

    1954 - Dame Iris Murdoch Pens Under the Net

  • -

    1954 - C.S. Lewis Completes The Chronicles of Narnia

  • -

    1954 - Brendan Behan's The Quare Fellow Premiers in Dublin

  • -

    1960 - Edna O'Brien Begins The Country Girls Trilogy

  • -

    1997 - Frank McCourt Wins the Pulitzer Prize

  • -

    2009 - Seamus Heaney Reads "Digging"


Document info
Document views134
Page views134
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 17:19:53 UTC 2017