X hits on this document





11 / 17


The NIKE Literary Award is a prestigious prize for the best Polish book of the year. It involves a three-stage competition, where at the first stage the jury nominates 20 titles in May, at the second a shortlist of seven finalists is announced in September, and then the winner is chosen from this group. The prize is usually awarded in October. The author of the winning book is given a NIKE statuette sculpted by Gustaw Zemła and a prize of 100,000 zlotys. First awarded 1997, the NIKE has mainly been won by novels. It is only given to living authors.



2007A Treatise On Shelling Beans (“Traktat o łuskaniu fasoli”) by Wiesław Myśliwski

2006The Queen’s Peacock (“Paw królowej”) by Dorota Masłowska

2005Driving to Babadag (“Jadąc do Babadag”) by Andrzej Stasiuk

2004Muck (“Gnój”) by Wojciech Kuczok

2003Sunset in Milanówek (“Zachód słońca w Milanówku”) by Jarosław Marek Rymkiewicz

2002In the Garden of Memory (“W ogrodzie pamięci”) by Joanna Olczak-Ronikier

2001 The Mighty Angel (“Pod Mocnym Aniołem”) by Jerzy Pilch

2000Mother Leaves (“Matka odchodzi”) by Tadeusz Różewicz

1999Surgical Precision (“Chirurgiczna precyzja”) by Stanisław Barańczak

1998Roadside Dog (“Piesek przydrożny”) by Czesław Miłosz

1997The Horizon (“Widnokrąg”) by Wiesław Myśliwski

Literary Award “Gdynia” – annual award, initiated in 2006 by the Mayor of the city of Gdynia. Presented in three categories (novel or short story, poetry, essay) to the best literary works published within the last year (only first editions, in Polish language). The award is worth 50,000 zlotys.



Novel – The Angels' Last Rally (“Ostatni zlot aniołów”) by Marian Pankowski

Poetry – Pensum by Adam Wiedemann

Essey – Tuwim's Face (“Twarz Tuwima”) by Piotr Matywiecki


Novel – A Treatise On Shelling Beans (“Traktat o łuskaniu fasoli”) by Wiesław Myśliwski

Poetry – Full Sea (“Pełne morze”) by Wojciech Bonowicz

Essay – A Plan for Trade in Kabardian Horses (“Projekt handlu kabardyńskimi końmi”) by Krzysztof Środa


Novel – Lubiewo by Michał Witkowski

Poetry – The History of Polish Families (“Dzieje rodzin polskich”) by Eugeniusz Tkaczyszyn-Dycki

Essay – Instead. On the work of Czesław Miłosz (“Zamiast”) by Marek Zaleski

The ANGELUS Central European Literary Award – this prize is given to the author of the best Central European work of fiction to be published in Polish each year. In 2007 the prize was awarded to Martin Pollack of Austria  for The Dead Man in the Bunker, published in Poland by Czarne.


The Kościelski Foundation Prize has been awarded annually since 1962. Based in Geneva, the Kościelski Foundation is one of the oldest institutes of Polish culture. It was established through a bequest made by Monika Kościelska, widow of patron of the arts Władysław August Kościelski, who died in July 1959. The prize is given to writers under the age of 40, who are selected by a voluntary jury appointed by the Foundation’s Council. Each writer is judged on his entire output to date, with special focus on his or her most recent prose, poetry, and essays. Known as the “young writers’ Nobel prize”, the award is worth 7,500 Swiss francs.

Recent winners: Mikołaj Łoziński (2007), Jolanta Stefko (2006), Jacek Dehnel (2005), Tomasz Różycki (2004).


The Polityka Passport is a prize established in 1993 by the weekly newspaper Polityka for performers in six categories: literature, film, theatre, classical music, popular music and the plastic arts. Since 2002 there has also been a special prize for achievements in disseminating Polish culture.

Recent winners in the literature category: Michał Witkowski (2007), Jacek Dehnel (2006), Marek Krajewski (2005), Sławomir Shuty (2004), Wojciech Kuczok (2003).

Document info
Document views69
Page views69
Page last viewedSat Jan 21 09:28:53 UTC 2017