ituated on 550+/- acres
which were originally part of the land grant of neighboring Castle Hill, Old Keswick is among a rare group of Historic homes that retain its original character and old Virginia charm.
Old Keswick has had only three family owners in its 250+ year history: Colonal Nicholas Meriweather who received the land as a grant from King George II, Dr. Thomas Walker and its current owner. The original portion of the house was built in 1736 as a hunting lodge for Castle Hill. This portion of the house is constructed of hand-hewn logs. The main part of the house was added in 1818 by Dr. Mann Page who married Dr. Walker’s daughter, Jane Frances Walker. This portion of the house is more formal with 11ft. ceilings, elaborate original woodwork, and a front porch believed to be designed by Thomas Jefferson. The two houses are connected by a paneled central hall making the house an H shape. The house is in excellent condition and remains a timeless testament to Virginia History.