X hits on this document





18 / 114

JUDGE LUCY SOMERVILLE HOWORTH FELLOWSHIP. This fellowship was established in honor of Judge Lucy Somerville Howorth and focuses on her inter- est in the status of women and issues relating to the Mississippi Delta. It provides funds, up to $4,000 a year, to a graduate student working toward an M.Ed., spe- cializing in History or English. The Fellowship involves the student in the work of the Charles W. Capps Jr., Archives and Museum, particularly with projects and collections concerning women of the Delta. Those interested should contact the Capps Archives and Museum at Box 3137 or (662) 846-4780.

JERRY WILLIAMS MBA SCHOLARSHIP. The Jerry Williams MBA Scholarship is to encourage and promote nontraditional students’ completion of an MBA pro- gram of study. The scholarship will be awarded twice a year, at the beginning of the Fall and Spring semesters. Eligibility for this scholarship is limited to part-time MBA students, who have been fully admitted to the MBA program at Delta State University, who have completed at least six hours in their program of study, and who have a minimum 3.2 GPA. Criteria for selection include academic and lead- ership abilities, demonstrated financial need, and recommendations. Contact the Director; Division of Continuing Education; Box 3124.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF JUNIOR AUXILIARIES SCHOLARSHIPS. The National Association of Junior Auxiliaries annually awards scholarships to per- sons pursuing graduate level studies in fields which address the special needs of children and youth. Application may be made through the Junior Auxiliary of Cleveland, P.O. Box 194, Cleveland, MS 38732.

POLICE CORPS SCHOLARSHIP. Qualified students may receive up to $30,000 toward an undergraduate or graduate degree in any major. For details, contact the Office of the Police Corps at 1-800-767-7334.

ANN MOHEAD WHITTLE AWARD. A cash award and certificate is awarded to the outstanding student in each graduating class of the Master of Education De- gree in Counseling. The recipient is elected by the faculty to recognize the person who has exemplified the most outstanding growth and development in the coun- seling program.

EVELYN F. SMITH PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARD. Established in 1998 by faculty member, Mrs. Evelyn F. Smith, to promote academic and clinical excel- lence, political and professional involvement in advanced nursing practice. The School of Nursing Scholarship Committee and a minority nurse or community leader select the recipient. The recipient must be a minority student in their last semester with a GPA of 3.4 or greater and a member of the Mississippi Nurses’ Association (MNA). All MSN students may apply (FNP students are given priority). The $500.00 cash award is given to the recipient in October for attendance at the annual MNA sponsored advanced practice continuing education meeting.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES’ NURSING EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP FOR STUDY IN NURSING EDUCATION. Provides funds to assist students in need who are in good standing with their nursing school. Eligibility requirements are state residency and full-time enrollment. Nursing Education Loan/Scholarship Program benefits Mississippi residents pursuing a degree in Nursing who are already enrolled in a school of Nursing. Award is based on cumulative grade point average of eligible applicants. Funds available for BSN students, RN/BSN students and M.S.N. stu- dents. Additional information is available from the Mississippi Office of State Student Financial Aid, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, Mississippi 39211-6453.


Document info
Document views400
Page views400
Page last viewedSun Jan 22 02:11:00 UTC 2017