X hits on this document





4 / 8

Page 4

District One Crawford County

Suzi Barnes of Denison was the guest speaker at the October 22 luncheon meeting for the Iowa Retired School Personnel Associa- tion held at Cronk’s in Denison. Mrs. Barnes has written a book, Memories From the House of Silk Stockings Row to highlight the old- er homes of which one is the Hartwig House where she and her husband reside and also have a Bed and Breakfast. A history major at Midwestern College, she reviewed courthouse records and census reports to find the historical backgrounds of 70 homes in Denison. The book is full of pictures recipes, and endless information about life in Denison. In addition to reporting on the book, she brought along many artifacts that have been in her family. Old magazines, an old teacher’s magazine from the 1890s, gloves, and pictures added to her pre- sentation.

President Pat Kirby presided at the meeting and reports were given by Mardella Andresen and Wanda Throckmorton. Officers reported on the Annual Meeting they recently attended in Council Bluffs. New program books for this new year were distributed. Following the opening, each town’s spokesperson in Crawford County is asked to respond with happenings in their commu- nity. Highlighting this portion was one given by Edna Wenzel of Denison who was the recipient of the AR-WE- VA “Wall of Fame” of which her name was added to the wall. She proudly displayed the plaque with her picture and write-up and also had many pictures to share of the homecoming activities that day.

Hosts for the meeting were Marlene Baughman. Shae Hansen, and Fred Worrell. The group will meet again on December 10 for their Christmas meeting. Members are asked to bring a donation for TAP.

Don and Betty Nobiling Westside, IA

DISTRICT SIX Henry County Volunteer Project

Middle School Project Committee Report: Carolyn Brenizer and Phyllis Paine went shopping for school supplies for the Henry County Middle School Project during the back-to-school sales in August. They were able to purchase 185 items including spiral notebooks, packages of pape , pens, pencils, glue, rulers, highlighters, erasers, post-it notes, ring binders, pocket folders, Index cards, construction paper and calculators. The total cost was $148.43. The items will be delivered later on this semester to the four Henry County Middle Schools.


Start now, it may take 12 months to get it all done

DISTRICT ONE Council Bluffs Area Chapter

Council Bluffs Area Chapter be- gan the new year with a meeting on September 15 at Community of Christ Church in Council Bluffs. We hold all of our meetings here and church volunteers serve us a delicious lunch at each of our five meetings. Seventy-nine members attended this meeting. We were excited to add thirteen new members this month. Our program was presented by Rich Sorich, who is the River- front Park Special Projects Manage , Iowa West Founda- tion. He talked about the proposed park which will be developed on the Council Bluffs side of the Bob Kerry Pedestrian Bridge which spans the Missouri River. A dis- cussion was held on the upcoming State Convention to be held in Council Bluffs. Marilyn Kelly and Jacque Miller are co-chairs for this event. Sue Propst is in charge of securing prizes.

The October meeting was held on October 20th. Sixty-three members attended. We added 3 new mem- bers at this meeting. We currently have 97 paid mem- berships in the local chapter. The program was present- ed by the Lewis Central High School music students who were preparing for All-State tryouts. Various small groups and the director explained the tryout prepara- tion and process.

The Annual Meeting was held at the Holiday Inn at Ameristar on October 6-7 and was well attended. Sue Propst and her committee had secured many door prizes. The grand prize was $110 donated by members of the Council Bluffs Chapter in honor of Eileen Eckrish, who is the State President-Elect. The winner of this grand prize was a lady from Sioux City, Marge Swanson, who immediately announced she would donate the money to the Sioux City Scholarship Fund

Our next meeting will be November 17. The pro- gram will be presented by Mary Jones from the Council Bluffs Animal Shelter.

Officers for this year are Darlene Schwartzkopf, President; Ellen Jaco, Vice-President; Secretary Nancy Tangeman and Floy Irwin, Treasurer. Legislation is head- ed by Eleanor Schultz; Membership by Sandy Miles, Res- ervations chair is Margaret Killibarada, Courtesy is head- ed by Donna Shenefelt; Newslette , Sue Griswold, and Chris Poole and Connie Schobert are in charge of the Yearbook and Table decorations. Pianist for the group is Berneil Hanson.

Sue Griswold Newsletter Reporter

Document info
Document views31
Page views31
Page last viewedFri Dec 09 19:01:44 UTC 2016