X hits on this document

154 views

0 shares

0 downloads

0 comments

1 / 43

THE BIOLOGICAL PHYSICIST

The Newsletter of the Division of Biological Physics of the American Physical Society V o l 5 N o 5 D e c e m b e r 2 0 0 5

DIVISION OF BIOLOGICAL PHYSICS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair Peter Jung

In this Issue

jung@helios.phy.ohio.edu

Immediate Past Chair Denis Rousseau

FEATURE Linked: A Conversation with Albert-László Barabási S. Bahar…………………………………………….…....…........2

rousseau@aecom.yu.edu

Chair-Elect Marilyn Gunner

gunner@sci.ccny.cuny.edu

Vice-Chair Dean Astumian

INTRODUCING PRL HIGHLIGHTS T. Duke……………….............6 PRL HIGHLIGHTS……………………………………….….……..7 PRE HIGHLIGHTS……………………………………….….……13

astumian@maine.edu

Secretary/Treasurer Shirley Chan

MARCH MEETING ANNOUNCEMENT DBP Student Travel Grants…………………………..……........18

JOB ADS…………………..…………………………….…...…..19

ShirleyChan@mailaps.org

APS Councillor Robert Eisenberg

beisenbe@rush.edu

APS WORKSHOP ON OPPORTUNITIES IN BIOLOGICAL PHSYICS Announcement…………………………………………….…… 23 Registration Form………...…………………………….……… 24

At-Large Members: Ka Yee C. Lee

kayeelee@uchicago.edu

WORKSHOP ANNOUNCEMENT Quantitative Approaches to Gene Regulatory Systems…….….. 25

Herbert Levine

hlevine@ucsd.edu

Lois Pollack

lois@ccmr.cornell.edu

NEW BOOK ANNOUNCEMENT Biological Physics of the Developing Embryo Gabor Forgacs and Stuart A. Newman............…….........…….26

Stephen Quake

quake@stanford.edu

Stephen J. Hagen

sjhagen@ufl.edu

CALL FOR PROPOSALS FROM HFSP…………………….….….…27 MARCH MEETING – DBP SESSION SCHEDULE……...….….….…28

Chao Tang

tang@itsa.ucsf.edu

Newsletter Editor Sonya Bahar

bahars@umsl.edu

Website Coordinator Andrea Markelz

amarkelz@nsm.buffalo.edu

Website Assistant Lois Pollack

lois@ccmr.cornell.edu

This issue of THE BIOLOGICAL PHYSICIST brings you a profile of Albert-László Barabási, as well as some important March Meeting related announcements (be sure to tell your grad students about the announcement on page 18!), including an announcement and registration materials for the APS Workshop on Opportunities in Biological Physics (pages 22-23), more job ads, and a call for proposals from the Human Frontier Science program. Also in this issue, we inaugurate PRL Highlights. Enjoy!

1

Document info
Document views154
Page views154
Page last viewedSun Dec 11 00:38:03 UTC 2016
Pages43
Paragraphs915
Words20254

Comments