X hits on this document





7 / 8

Loddon Campaspe Group

The Loddon Campaspe Group has fifty five members and it is pleasing that a further three recent recipients have joined the Regional Group Committee. Five people in the Region received Australia Day honours this year.

A number of social activities are planned in the coming months namely, a visit to the Bendigo Pottery where there is a museum, potters workshop and a gallery of work by local artists. The Bendigo Art Gallery will be featuring American Dreams; 20th Century Photography from George Eastman House. A further Trivia Night is planned in Gisborne on Saturday 17th September with the Annual General Meeting at the Bendigo RSL on Sunday 23rd September.

Central Highlands Successful Launch of the Ballarat Exhibition:

A total of 125 Order of Australia Association members, their guests and invited guests of the Sovereign Hill Museum attended the launch of “HONOURING ACHIEVEMENT, BALLARAT AND THE ORDER OF AUSTRALIA” on 15th March 2011 at the Gold Museum. Councillor Judy Verlin, previous Mayor of the City of Ballarat, who had been closely involved, addressed the gathering and in launching the exhibition, provided some history of the process by which the project came to fruition.

The exhibition itself, located in a prominent position at the Gold Museum, comprises both the Order of Australia Touring Display from Canberra, which encourages nominations to the Order, plus the special feature of a number of large wall posters showing photos and details of local OAA members who live within the City of Ballarat boundary. Relevant artefacts have also been included in the display, such as the wig worn in court by one member, some beautiful Chinese porcelain from another member, a model of the plane flown during war service and so on. In addition, for permanent record which can be added to on a continuing basis, an Honour Book has been established where members who are happy to provide their own details are included.

In his address to the gathering, Dr Bill Pryor OA, Chairman of the Group, recognised and thanked the City Council which had provided a generous grant to help fund the project following his approaches to the former Mayor. He also paid tribute to the assistance from Gold Museum staff led by Mr Roger Trudgeon and Ms Claire Muir and to his OAA colleagues, Mrs Mary Akers OAM and Mrs Jan Allitt OAM who had prepared the biographies of those presented, and attended countless meetings.

This exhibition, which is open each day from 9.30 am to 5.20 pm at the Gold Museum, Sovereign Hill until July 17 could have much of interest to other groups as being a possible template for their future historical recording. Feedback so far from attendees has been uniformly very positive about this unique feature. Enquiries could be addressed to Chairman, Dr Pryor at 03 5341 3397 or Secretary, Mrs Jan Allitt 03 5333 3642

Regional Group Contacts

North Eastern & Goulburn Valley: Kevin Howard OAM Email: kmpro@w140.aone.net.au Eastern Suburbs: Bob Law AM OBE Email: bob.law@optusnet.com.au Barwon: Mr. John Johnson AO APM QPM. Chairman Phone: (03)5258 4740 Email: glaneuse1@yahoo.com.au Mornington Peninsula. Mr Brian Stahl OAM, JP. Chairman: (03)5979 4290 Email: ber.bri@bigpond.com Central Highlands: Dr. William Pryor AO. Chairman. Email: commvet@netconnect.com.au Loddon Campaspe: Graeme Millar OAM Email: elgrae@bigpond.com.au Western Suburbs: John Nicol OAM Email: john@nicolgroup.com.au South Central Suburban. Mr. Geo Oscar AM, Chairman (03) 9521 9065 Email: genoscar@melbpc.org.au Central Suburbs: Mr. Wellington Lee AM OBE RFD JP Chairman. Phone: 0418 108 556 South West Victoria: Mr. Peter Habersberger AM RFD Chairman. Phone: (03)9576 0021 Email: (pghabers@bigpond.com) Gippsland: Peter Wood OAM Email: woody69@dodo.com.au Mallee: Ken Wright OAM Email: wrightken@bigpond.com; Victoria Branch: Don Hyde AM Email: dhyde1@bigpond.net.au

How to Replace Lost Insignias

The Order of Australia Association cannot replace lost insignia or lapel pins. Replacements can only be obtained from the The Secretary,Order of Australia, Government House, Yarralumla. ACT. 2600. telephone ( 02) 6283 3533. email: honours@gg.gov.au


To advise of the passing of members of the Association, Contact the Branch Secretary Marion Lau OAM Phone: 0418 966 143. Email: msfl@bigpond.com


Document info
Document views28
Page views28
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 04:40:28 UTC 2017