X hits on this document





42 / 45

Horton, Charles T. (1982): ‘Chopin and Brahms: On a Common Meeting (Middle) Ground.’ In Theory Only, Vol VI, PT 7, 19-22.

Howell, Tim (1992): ‘Analysis and Performance: The Search for a Middleground.’ In John Paynter, Tim Howell, Richard Orton, and Peter Seymour (ed.), Companion to Contemporary Musical Thought, Vol. 2. London and New York: Routledge.

Hutcheson, Ernest (1969): The Literature of the Piano: A Guide for Amateur and Student. 2nd edition, revised by Rudolph Ganz. London: Hutchinson & Co Ltd.

Kamien, Roger (2000): ‘Phrase, period, theme.’ In Glenn Stanley (ed.), The Cambridge Companion to Beethoven. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. Keys, Ivor (1989): Johannes Brahms. London: Christopher Helm Publications Ltd.

Korsyn, Kevin (1993); ‘Brahms Research and Aesthetic Ideology.’ Music Analysis Vol.12/1, 89- 103.

Kroher, Ekkehart (1991): Jacket notes to Brahms, Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor, Rhapsodie Op. 119/4, Intermezzo Op. 118/6. Translated by Diana Loos. Sony Classical SK 47181.

Latham, Peter (1966): Brahms. London: J. M. Dent and Sons Ltd.

Lester, Joel (1995): ‘Performance and Analysis: interaction and interpretation.’ In John Rink (ed.), The Practice of Performance, Studies in Musical Interpretation. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Lewin, David (1990): ‘Brahms, his Past, and Modes of Music Theory.’ In George S. Bozarth (ed.), Brahms Studies: Analytical and Historical Perspectives. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

Lockwood, Lewis (1982): ‘ “Eroica” Perspectives: Strategy and Design in the First Movement.’In Alan Tyson, (ed), Beethoven Studies 3. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Longyear, Rey M. (1973): Nineteenth-Century Romanticism in Music. 2nd edition. New Jersey: Prentice Hall.

MacDonald, Malcolm (1990): Brahms. The Master Musicians Series ed. by Stanley Sadie. London: J. M. Dent & Sons Ltd.

Matthews, Denis (1978): Brahms Piano Music. BBC Music Guides. London: BBC Publications.

Musgrave, Michael (1985): The Music of Brahms. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul.

Musgrave, Michael, ed. (1987): Brahms 2 biographical, documentary and analytical studies. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Musgrave, Michael (2000): A Brahms Reader. New Haven: Yale University Press.

  • -


Document info
Document views180
Page views180
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 13:32:16 UTC 2017