After you have attended New Student Orientation and have developed your first- semester educational plan, your next step is to register for your classes.
When can I register? On or after your designated priority registration date, or during open enrollment.
How do I register? You may register in person at the Admissions & Records Office, or you may use the automated telephone or web registration systems—instruc- tions are in the Schedule of Classes.
What do classes cost? The enrollment fee for California residents is $18* per unit. Fee waivers are granted to quali- fying students. Out-of-state and out-of-country students must pay additional fees. Fees may be paid with cash, check, Visa or Mastercard.
*Subject to change by California State Legislature
When do I have to pay? All fees must be paid in full at the time you reg- ister or as indicated by phone or web registra- tion.
What if I can’t afford to pay? Fill out an application for financial aid. You may qualify for a fee waiver or a grant.
What is a prerequisite? Some courses require completion of another course before enrollment is allowed. Prerequisites must be verified at the Admissions Office upon registration.
Certain high school classes may meet prerequi- site requirements — bring a copy of your high school transcript when registering. “Advisory” prerequisites indicate the level of proficiency needed to successfully complete a course, but are not enforced.
What if a class I want is full? You may choose to be put on a computerized wait list at the Admissions Office. If you are on a wait list, you must attend the first class and get instructor approval on the Wait List Slip. No adds into semester-length courses are allowed after the first 2 weeks.
What if I decide to drop a course? You must submit a drop form at the Admissions & Records Office before the final drop date. Failure to drop officially may result in an “F” grade on your transcript.
Will I receive a refund if I drop? If you drop prior to the deadline published in the Schedule of Classes, you will receive a refund. See the full refund policy in the College Catalog or Schedule of Classes.
What if I have to miss my first class? Students who do not attend the first class risk being dropped by the instructor. If you can’t attend the first class, it’s a good idea to contact the instructor by e-mail or phone or leave a mes- sage in his/her mailbox.
Where can I get a College Catalog? The Catalog is available free to students enrolled in Orientation 1 classes and some Psychology 5 classes. Catalogs may also be purchased for $5 from the Viking Bookstore.