X hits on this document





9 / 164


The Florida Lake Management Society presents the following annual awards:

The Marjorie Carr Award is the Society’s highest award and is given for lifetime work on behalf of Florida’s aquatic resources. This award is named in honor of Marjorie Carr who, among other things, organized citizens and brought to an end the proposed Cross-Florida Barge Canal.

Past recipients include: Hal Scott (1990), Vince Williams (1991), Cassie and David Gluckman (1993), Johnny Jones (1994), Richard Coleman (1995), Nat Reed (2000), Mike Kasha (2001), Everett Kelly (2002), Joe E. Hill (2003), Jake Stowers (2004), and Henry Dean (2005) not awarded in 2006.

The Edward Deevey, Jr. Award is given to an individual for contributing to our scientific understanding of Florida’s waterbodies. Edward Deevey was an internationally recognized limnologist and was affiliated with the State Museum of Florida at the time of his death.

Past recipients include: William Beck (1990), Jim Hulbert (1991), Howard T. Odum (1993), Tom Crisman (1994), Marty Wanielista (1995), Karl Havens (1999), Claire Schelske (2000), and Betty Rushton (2003) not awarded in 2004, 2005, or 2006.

The Scott Driver Award is given to an “activist” who has promoted the restoration, protection, and/or appreciation of Florida’s aquatic resources. Scott was a well known activist on behalf of Lake Okeechobee and was a member of the steering committee that founded FLMS at the time of his death.

Past recipients include: Helen Spivey (1990), Jim Hawley (1991), Wayne Nelson (1993), Jim Thomas (1994), Tom Reese (1995), Judith Hancock (1999), Carroll Head (2000), Mary Carter (2001), Al Cheatum (2002), Thomas E. Fortson (2003), Beverly Sidenstick (2004), Joanne Spurlino (2005) and Barbara Ketchum (2006).

Document info
Document views517
Page views517
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 00:06:43 UTC 2017