X hits on this document





3 / 20

The request was to appoint up to ten (10) members to the New City Motto Selection Committee. The committee would sunset once recommendations were made to council for a new city motto.

At the July 28, 2009 council meeting, the City Council authorized the advertisement and solicitation of citizen input for selecting a new city motto. At the October 25, 2009 City Council Meeting, Council authorized creation of a New City Motto Selection Committee of up to ten members to review citizen input for a new city motto and to make recommendations to Council. During the November 24, 2009 City Council meeting, it was determined to make the committee selection at the December 8, 2009 meeting. In addition, it was determined that Erica Daniels would act as the facilitator once the committee members were selected.

Currently there were twenty (20) applications on file. Three of the applicants were non- city residents. Boards and Commissions normally require city residency. An exception was made for a committee if the applicant operates a business within the City of Titusville. Roz Foster was part owner of Carl Henry Inc., 306 Pine St. Titusville, Florida and was a board member of the business. Ken Ward and Laura Ward were not currently operating a business within the City of Titusville.

Motion: Member Long moved to allow all applicants who qualified to serve on the New City Motto Selection Committee. Applicants appointed included: Marcia Gaedcke, Lowell Gray, Linda Miedema, Deborah Petyk, Natalie Sellers, Ron Swank, Karen Sylvestor, Dawna Thorstad, Ron Thorstad, Susan Woolridge, Karen Conklin, Shawn Exlline, Kathleen Burson, Jim Easley, Taylor Collier, Franci Kettman and Rosalie Foster. Motion excluded all non-residents who did not have an interest in a city business. The motion included Erica Daniels to act as facilitator and would serve as a non-voting participant. Vice-Mayor Eigenmann seconded the motion.

Discussion ensued on qualifications for the committee relating to non-residents with a business interest in the community.

The motion carried unanimously.

Erica Daniels distributed to Council four (4) questions concerning mottos verse tag lines.

Discussion ensued over the differences between a motto and a tag line.


Planning & Zoning Commission – City Manager advised that the request was to appoint one (1) alternate member to the Planning and Zoning Commission for an unexpired term to expire on January 31, 2011.

Member Long nominated Robert Messer as an alternate member of the Planning and Zoning Commission with an unexpired term to expire on January 31, 2011.


Document info
Document views137
Page views137
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 19:29:13 UTC 2017