X hits on this document





3 / 6


Page 3


The final sprint of the Jamaica National Sprint championship series has never failed to provide thrilling and competitive racing action as championship hopefuls attack the fast but fearsome hard packed marl surface nestled in the hills overlooking Montego Bay. Created just over a decade ago, the Moreland track has been the stomping ground of Montegonians who have dared any outsider to best their performances on the loose, 1 mile circuit, ideally set between shaded hills that offer excellent viewing for spectators.

This year perennial title sponsor Leroy’s Auto Glass is joined by telecommunications giant Cable & Wire- less, Team Xpress Racing, KFC, Xsomo, Geddes Refrigeration, Lloyd’s of Montego Bay, The Wexford Hotel, JLC Distributors and Castrol in bringing the long awaited event to the second city . Driver’s Championship leader Maurice Whittingham driving the rear wheel drive Yardy Vibes/Mad Dem Racing Toyota Starlet will have his hands full trying to stave off the challenge of second placed Pernell Fitz-Coy (Island Products/Mountain Dew/Chen’s Wheel Alignment Toyota Corolla FX) and third placed Jordan Powell (b-mobile /Jamspeed Adrenalin Rush TV Toyota Starlet). The top three contenders may just well be upset for overall honors however by either James March in the Mobay Service Centre Toyota Corolla FX which battled for the win of the JA2 class at the last sprint event or the Hilton Kingston/Digicel / Cooyah/Global Couriers /Duco Mix Honda Civic of Team Xpress’ Rajendra Jadusingh. In fact, Team Xpress has a whole army lined up, as Sylvester Gordon (VW Golf GTi), Andy Williams (Mitsubishi Mirage RS) and Rohan Clarke (Nissan Pulsar) will be joining ranks for the Mobay invasion.

Leroy Spence will debut his Honda CRX at the event, while Thomas Hall (Toyota Starlet turbo), Dave Lee (Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, Macklin Peterkin (Subaru Impreza WRX), Richard Rerrie (Subaru Impreza WRX) and Matthew Gore (Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 5) are all preparing to attack the challenging course. A large fleet of cars from Spot Valley complex with a fresh new set of drivers including Patrick Chambers and Marvin Porteous is also expected to compete under the watchful eye of their team mentors as the 2007 sprint season draws to a close.

There will be a special ladies class run at this event, as Gina Tomlinson, Anna-Kay Dunkley, Stacey-Ann Garwood, Michelle Delfosse and Marcia Dawes-Lamey go head to head for the title of fastest female. The St. Ann contingent will be comprised of Ian Edwards, Kevin Notemen, Dwight Walters, Keith Mills and Nigel Edwards, who have taken on the task of establishing their St. Ann team as a force to be reckoned with. Michael Delfosse and Gordon McDowell from Team Mack Attack will support their female team members Michelle Delfosse and Marcia Dawes, as the east vs west battle comes to a head at the event.

Admission is $300 adults and $100 children under 12.

If you have upcoming events that you’d like to be published in MotorMouth contact Marcia Dawes-Lamey at rallyprincess@gmail.com.

Document info
Document views23
Page views23
Page last viewedThu Dec 22 01:02:58 UTC 2016