X hits on this document





34 / 60

Hugh O’brian Youth Leadership Program - HOBY – For Sophomore Students

Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership, commonly known as HOBY, is one of the oldest and most prominent youth leadership organizations in the world. HOBY was founded by the actor Hugh O’Brian after returning from spending nine inspirational days working and volunteering with Dr. Albert Schweitzer, the 1952 Nobel Peace Prize Winner. Two weeks after the visit, O’Brian, who was portraying legendary law-man Wyatt Earp on television, sought to change the world in his own way – by engaging youth leaders, the world’s most promising enterprise and greatest asset. In 1958, HOBY was born. This program is for high School sophomores. Last year more than 9.000 sophomores took advantage of the program. The HOBY Seminars provide great networking and leadership skill development as well as a focus on community service for their future leaders. Contact Info: 1-310-474-4370 x400 or email registration@hoby.org. Deadlines: November 25, 2008—interested sophomores must return their resume’ and letter of interest to Ms. Teague to be considered for nomination. Only one student will be nominated by the school. There is a $150.00 registration fee.

Louisville Metro Human Relations Commission - Human Relations Commission Youth Service Award - As part of an annual race relations conference each January, the Human Relations Commission presents a Youth Services Award to one or more secondary education students in Jefferson County who best exemplify the goals and efforts of the civil rights movement and its numerous leaders. This award is the subject of a review process carried out by the Commission, using the enclosed criteria for evaluating the nominations and selecting the most deserving student leaders. CRITERIA FOR NOMINATION: Personally models acceptance and respect for others, Sets a tone of acceptance and mutual respect within groups, by example and through active leadership, Actively mediates in positive ways to resolve conflicts, Finds ways to learn about and celebrate differences between groups, while avoiding and debunking negative stereotypes, Uses thoughtful inclusion strategies to promote equal opportunities for participation, Discourages hateful “pranks” and reports hate crimes to appropriate authorities, and, In general, acts in ways to support the missions of the Human Relations Commission. The award will be presented at the Thirteenth Annual Race Relations Conference held on Tuesday January 22, 2009 at the Galt House. A noted journalist will be the keynote speaker. To apply: Return your resume’, your letter of interest, and a teacher recommendation to Ms. Teague by November 25. Contact Info: Carolyn Miller Cooper – 502-574-3634. Deadlines: November 25, 2008

Mary Jo Young Scholarship – These scholarships pay for tuition and books for students enrolling in a spring semester 2009 Dual Credit Course at a Kentucky College or Advanced Placement Course through the Kentucky Virtual High School. Students must have already met the qualifications for free or reduced lunch and this must be verified by your high school counselor. Students must complete courses they sign up for. Return the application form in the College Career Room Packet of Information to your school counselor for verification of free or reduced lunch. Deadline – November 25, 2008.

KASSP Scholarship Program Sponsored by the Kentucky National Guard – up to $1,000 scholarship awarded to students who aspire to be a teacher, major in a field of education, and have a minimum GPA of 3.0. For more information contact your school Principal – download application forms at http://kassp.net Deadline: November 30, 2008.

December Deadlines:

Boston University Merit Awards – Boston University offers several merit scholarships including the Trustee Scholarship (full tuition plus all expenses over four years) Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Scholarship (full tuition over four years) Alexander Graham Bell Scholarship (full tuition over four years) Ancient Greek Scholarship (full four year tuition) Latin Scholarship (full and half-tuition) School of Education Presidential Scholarship (full tuition over four years) University Scholarship (half-tuition) Dean’s Scholarships ($10,000 annually) Founder’s Grants ($5,000 annual grant) National Scholars Award, Engineering Scholarships, National Hispanic Recognition, the Methodist Clergy Scholarship and more. For more information and all scholarships contact

Document info
Document views205
Page views206
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 04:50:32 UTC 2017