X hits on this document

PDF document

Student Accomplishments Compiled from March, 2009 – May, 2009 - page 4 / 5





4 / 5

Sports Club Leadership, Jenna Moes (Senior, Exercise Science) for the William M. Healey Award, April Jardine (Senior, History) for The Hal Crosby Leadership Award, Joseph McCandless (Senior, Int Inf Tech) for The Kenneth Curtis Award, and Colossia Butts (Senior, Comm. Arts) for The Linda O. Dye Award.

Jenni Brian (Doctoral, Education), Jennifer Johnson (Doctoral, Education), Missy Pritzl (Masters, CSPA), Alex Colley (Masters, MBA) and Sara Sheets (Masters, Exercise Science) presented “The Donut Budget” at the 2009 National Intramural Recreational Sports Association Conference. This session discussed creative ways to use technology, employees, and academic partners to create effective marketing programs without a dedicated budget.

April Moore (Masters, CSPA) received a National Intramural Recreational Sports Association Student National Service Award for her work and dedication in promoting student learning outcomes as a critical element of recreational sports.

Tasha Sanders (Masters, MSA) has been awarded a Fellowship with the National Association of Campus Activities. This will allow her the opportunity to present at the national and regional NACA Conferences, as well as have an article published in Campus Programming Magazine.

The Resident Assistants with Housing and Residence Life have won the bid to host the 2010 Florida Resident Assistant Symposium at UWF. UWF’s representatives at the 2009 FRAS also won the “Spirit Cup” Award.

The 2009 UWF Housing and Residence Life award winners were; Resident Assistant of the Year Melissa Nystrom, Hall Director of the Year Kelly Kalmbrunn, Staff of the Year Delphi (Martin Hall), Most Creative Dali Ramos, Community Builder of the Year Tyson Alburn, Life Saver Award Ronnie Rentz and Noah O’Donnell, Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Melissa Nystrom, Programmer of the Year Tyson Alburn, Service Pins Ronnie Rentz, Lindsay Onjukka, Kim Luzano, Cami Patterson, Melissa Swartz, Jessica French, Tristan Franke, Maverick Hoenig.

Stephen Trimble, Argo RA, was accepted to the prestigious STARS College of our Association of College and University Housing Officers-International. This College is designed for undergrads who want to pursue a career in Housing and student Affairs.

Student leaders operating under a Campus Action Project grant from the American Association of University Women hosted approximately 200 8th Grade girls from area middle-schools on the UWF campus for a half day “Girls Rock!” program. The program provided information on career choices, STEM careers, body image, and preparation for high school and college.

Athletics The University of West Florida claimed its fourth straight Gulf South Conference Women’s All-Sports Trophy and fifth in the last six years. UWF joined former GSC member Jacksonville State as the only schools to capture four straight women’s all-sports trophies since the award’s inception in 1982-83. The UWF men’s teams tied for fourth place in the GSC standings.

The Argonaut Softball Team tabbed five spots on this year’s All-Gulf South Conference teams. Pitcher Jillian Lafrance (Junior, HLES) and first basemen Shannon Miles (Junior, Art) were both named to the All-GSC First Team, as Lafrance captured the GSC East Pitcher of the Year laurel. Pitcher Emily Burge (Senior, HLES), shortstop Caurie Miller (Senior, HLES), and leftfielder Melissa Chastang (Senior, HLES) earned All-GSC Second Team garners after a successful 2009 regular season.

Document info
Document views14
Page views14
Page last viewedTue Jan 17 07:00:18 UTC 2017