X hits on this document





2 / 2

James Boland

President, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers (BAC)

President James Boland, a member of the (BAC) Executive Board since 1995, became President in February 2010, and was elected to a five-year term in September 2010. Boland served first as an Executive Vice President until June 1999, when he was named Secretary-Treasurer, a position to which he was elected in 2000 and re-elected in 2005.

After becoming a BAC member in1977, Boland spent the next decade working on commercial projects in the San Francisco Bay area in brick, block, stone, and marble. He became Business Agent in 1988 and then President in 1992 of BAC Local 3 California. One year later he was appointed to serve as a member of the International Union’s highest advisory body, the BAC Executive Council.

In 1994 Boland was named to the International Union’s headquarters staff as Assistant to the Vice President for Operations overseeing trade jurisdiction mat- ters. Later that year, he was asked to take on the added field responsibilities of BAC Regional Director for California and Nevada, a position he maintained until his elec- tion to the Executive Board in 1995.

As International Union President, Boland’s responsibilities include formulating and supervising the IU’s programs and activities consistent with the policies estab- lished by the IU Convention and in accordance with the Union’s Constitution.

In addition to his Executive Board responsibilities, Boland serves as Co-Chair of the International Masonry Institute (IMI), the training and industry development arm of the organized masonry industry, as a Trustee of the International Trowel Trades Pension Fund (IPF) and the International Health Fund (IHF), and as Co-Chair of the BAC Canadian Congress.

President Boland is a Vice President of the AFL-CIO Executive Council, and serves on these AFL-CIO Committees: International Affairs; Legislation / Policy; Political; and Immigration. He is a member of the Governing Boards of Presidents of the Building and Construction Trades (BCTD) Department, AFL-CIO. In addition, he serves on the General Presidents’ Committee on Contract Maintenance and the National Joint Heavy and Highway Committee.

He is also on the Boards of the AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust and ULLICO.

He graduated from the Harvard Trade Union Program in 1996.

The D.C. Friends of Ireland

cordially invites you to participate in our

Irish Festival


D.C. Friends of Ireland Charitable Trust supporting worthy charities

Date: Sunday, April 3, 2011

Time: 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.


Washington Hilton

1919 Connecticut Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20009

Paul Berry

Honorary Master of Ceremonies


$200 individual

$2,000 reserved table of ten

NOTE: Reservations for tables received by March 17, 2011 will be guaranteed. After that date requests for reserved tables will be handled as space permits - NO GUARANTEE.

The D.C. Friends of Ireland Charitable Trust is a 501(a) non-profit, tax-exempt organization as described in section 501(c)(3). Contributions are deductible to the extent allowed by law, excluding the dinner cost of 90.12 - Tax ID #52-2315220

Food, and Beverage Included

Registration Card Included


1992 - John J. Barry, President* International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

2001 - Terence M. O’Sullivan, General President Laborers’ International Union of North America

1993 - John J. Sweeney, President Service Employees International Union

1994 - Edward T. Hanley, President* Hotel Employees Restaurant

Employees International Union

1995 - Thomas R. Donahue, President American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations

1996 - John J. Sweeney, President American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations

1997 - William G. Bernard, President* International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Asbestos Workers

1998 - Vincent R. Sombrotto, President National Association of Letter Carriers

1999 - John M. Bowers, President International Longshoremen’s Association

2000 - John J. Flynn, President International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers

2002 - Michael J. Sullivan, General President Sheet Metal Workers’ International Association

2003 - James Williams, General President International Union of Painters and Allied Trades

2004 - James P. Hoffa, General President International Brotherhood of Teamsters

2005 - Edward C. Sullivan, President Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO

2006 - Edwin D. Hill, International President International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

2007 - Michael A. Fitzpatrick, General Secretary

International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers

2008 - Richard Hughes, President International Longshoremen’s Association, AFL-CIO

2009 - Michael J. Brennan and Terence J. O’Sullivan, DCFI Past Presidents

2010 - Richard L. Trumka, President, AFL-CIO

  • *


A Message from the President:

You may or may not hear the old Irish-American tune “Irish Eyes” tonight. But they will indeed be smiling as we come together on the eve of the B&CTD 2011 Legislative Conference at the Washington Hilton on April 3rd.

This will be a special evening since this years honoree, James Boland was actually born in Ireland.

See you on April 3rd

Thank you,

Jim Kennedy President

Document info
Document views6
Page views6
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 18:21:12 UTC 2017