X hits on this document





7 / 8


BERKELEY A. MILLS (1896-1955), who was the first African American letter carrier in Princeton, served in the United States Army in both world wars and retired as a lieutenant colonel. He founded the New Jersey State Association of the Elks. I-11


VIRGINIA F. MILLS (1901-1989), who was the first African American owner and operator of a hairdressing business in Princeton, is fondly remembered as a personable and generous benefactor of the community. She is especially appreciated for having purchased many Cemetery plots for those who were financially unable to do so themselves. I-11


JOHN (HENRY) O'HARA (1905-1970) was a voluminous and much-honored writer. His novels, Appointment in Samarra (1934) and Ten North Frederick (1955), and his collection of short stories, Pal Joey (1940), are among his best-known works. I-32


CHARLES GROSVENOR OSGOOD (1871-1964), the popular Holmes Professor of Belles Letters at the University, specialized in English literature. This “dean of Princeton humanists” is remembered for his definitive textbook, The Voice of England (1935), and his monumental eight-volume edition (1932-47) of the works of Edmund Spenser, his favorite poet. U-12


EDGAR PALMER (1880-1943) had numerous business interests and was chairman of the board of the New Jersey Zinc Company. He was a generous benefactor of the University, and one of his most prominent legacies to the town was the construction of Palmer Square in 1929. S-14


ROGER ATKINSON PRYOR (1828-1919) was a brigadier general in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. Impoverished by the war, he later prospered as a newspaperman, lawyer, and judge "in the arms of the enemy" in New York City. H-27


SARA AGNES PRYOR (1830-1912) was a founder of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. H-27


MOSES TAYLOR PYNE (1855-1921), a financier and philanthropist, was the "best-known and beloved Princeton alumnus" who gave much of his fortune and energy to the University. It was said that he "did more for Princeton than any other man has done for any college." Drumthwacket, his Princeton home at 354 Stockton Street, is now the official residence of the governor of New Jersey. I-32


WILLIAM DREW ROBESON (1845-1918) and MARIA LOUISA BUSTILL ROBESON (1853-1904) were the parents of Paul (Leroy) Robeson (1898-1976), the African American concert singer and actor famous for his principal roles in Emperor Jones and Othello. Paul Robeson, a native of Princeton after whom a nearby street has been named (see map), is buried in Ferncliff Cemetery in Hartsdale, New York. M-34


DICKINSON SHEPHERD (1737?-1761) was a "student of Nassau Hall" at the College when he died at the age of twenty-four. His grave is the third oldest in the Cemetery, although his original flat marble monument is currently in the collections of the University. I-44


BARBARA BOGGS SIGMUND (1939-1990), whose epitaph refers to her "passion for beauty and justice," was the Democratic mayor of Princeton Borough from 1984 for six years until her untimely death from cancer. Both her father and subsequently her mother served Louisiana in the United States House of Representatives. F-36


H. ALEXANDER SMITH (1880-1966) was a lawyer and United States Republican senator from New Jersey from 1944 to 1959. V-14


LYMAN SPITZER, JR. (1914-1997), a professor of astronomy at the University for thirty-five years and director of its observatory, is known for his diverse and important contributions to plasma physics and space exploration. W-16


WILLIAM MILLIGAN SLOANE (1850-1928), a longtime professor of history and political science at the College and then at Columbia University, served for over thirty years on the International Olympic Committee. The founder and first president of the United States Olympic Committee, he escorted the first American Olympic team to Athens in 1896. The centennial of that historic event was commemorated by a ceremony at his grave site in 1996. G-30

Document info
Document views30
Page views30
Page last viewedMon Jan 23 23:28:26 UTC 2017