X hits on this document

PDF document






3 / 4


The Foundation serves businesses and individuals who wish to present a scholarship to a graduating senior at Brookland-Cayce High School. Because the Foundation is chartered as a 501 © (3) organization, gifts are tax deductible. The Finance Committee is authorized by the board of directors to invest the funds donated to the Foundation and designated for scholarships. Endowments are invested and only the interest is used to fund the scholarships awarded each spring. Memorial contributions made at the time of death may be designated for a particular scholarship in the individual’s name. If interested in making scholarship/memorial donations, please contact Nanette Wooton at 739-8076.

These are endowed scholarships presented by the BCHS Foundation: Mr. and Mrs. Barry Bolen and Family Scholarship—presented by BC Foundation with financial need by the Bolen Family Endowment Ben Moye Scholarship – presented to a student outstanding in academics and athletics with financial need in honor of Coach Moye through an endowment presented by the BCHS alumni and friends Brookland-Cayce High School Memorial Scholarship—presented by BC Foundation through the teacher memorial scholarship fund. Julia Derrenbacher Jamison and Harriett Kaigler Derrenbacher Scholarshippresented to a student entering the teaching profession by Mr. John Derrenbacher’s endowment Mary Dreher Hook Academic Achievement Award—presented to the class valedictorian through the Wayne Hook endowment Marguerite McCaskill Scholarship—presented to a student with educational interest preferably in English or Language Arts Mr. and Mrs. Mike Stamps and Family Scholarship—presented to a student with financial needs Lowell C. “Butch” Spires, Jr. Family Scholarship—presented to a student with financial needs

Families have established these scholarships in memory of a family member: Beatrice Ellisor Parker Memorial Scholarship—for a student with financial needs Lloyd E. Kirkland Sr. Memorial Scholarship—for a student with financial needs The Patricia Coleman Scholarship—to a student pursuing a career in nursing presented by Mr. Tommy Wessinger and matching gift from Bank of America Mitchell A. Bagwell Memorial Fund—presented to an athlete with financial needs Eddie Jeffcoat Memorial Scholarship—presented to a student with financial needs Rose Levinson Memorial Scholarship—presented to a student in the health field

Businesses/Individuals present these awards through the Foundation on an annual basis: Southern Anesthesia and Surgical Scholarships—for students with financial needs Coca Cola Scholarship—to an outstanding student Reeley’s Body Shop Scholarship—presented to a student with financial neeeds pursuing a vocational career Don Ackerman Scholarship—presented to a student pursuing a career in education Frankie Bowman Scholarship—presented to a former Claude A. Taylor Elementary School student

The Foundation Board of Directors presents: Barbara Jeffcoat Academic Scholarship—for an outstanding student School to Work Scholarships—for two interns who work in the Guidance Center

Scholarships are awarded through an application process conducted by the Scholarship Committee with assistance from the BCHS Guidance Center. These spring scholarships totaled $14,150, ranging from $250 to $2,000.

(continued at top right of this page)

Listed below are the 2006 graduates who received scholarships:

Lindsay Langdale—USC-Columbia Curtis Murphy—Spartanburg Methodist Destinee Cole—Coker College Andrew Bristow—USC-Aiken Laura Macauley—Wofford Holly Gleaton—USC-Columbia Kimberly Peagler—Columbia College Brittany Brunson—Midlands Tech Zahid Chinwalla—USC-Aiken Darius Adams—Midlands Tech Kimberly Mack—USC-Aiken Camille Petty—USC/Honors-Columbia Tiffany Livingston—USC-Aiken Vivi Koutrakas—USC-Columbia Lauren Causey—Columbia College Rosalyn Capps—USC-Columbia Margie Jade Johnson—Lander University Joseph A.Randall—Spartanburg Methodist Chandler Whisnant—USC-Aiken Jake Jacobs—Wofford Melissa Ryan Looney—Clemson Amanda Thorton—Midlands Tech Jason Priester—USC-Aiken Elizabeth Claire Hite—College of Charleston Caitlin Harley—Lander University Melanie “Kayla” Smith—Georgia College

& State University Blake Hinton— Lander University Jessica Rosebrock—LeNoire-Rhyne


The Foundation’s contribution in teacher grants provided $10,551, meeting all the teacher requests and needs for the upcoming school year. Some of this year’s items purchased includes physics EMD kits, digital cameras, scanner, printer, LCD projector, tutor control software, electric hospital bed, etymology dictionaries, and materials for seven Bearcat Courtyard benches, and other technical equipment/services, which will enable BC teachers and students to have the educational tools necessary to excel in the classrooms.


Our 2006 Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Martha Zion, and she was awarded a $250 check by the Foundation. Mrs. Zion teachs in the Social Studies Department at B-C. Congratulations, Martha.

We are so proud of you, Mrs. Martha Zion

Document info
Document views13
Page views13
Page last viewedSat Jan 21 22:25:05 UTC 2017