Instruction for Requesting Driving Safety Class For Traffic Ticket Dismissal by Mail
To Request Defensive Driving:
Fill out the request form by circling a plea (Guilty or No Contest).
Sign and date the line that says Defendant’s Signature.
The bottom portion (Affidavit) must be signed in front of a Notary Public in and for the State of Texas.
You must mail back to the court a photo copy of your Driver’s License and your current auto insurance card, completed request form (signed before a notary), and a money order in the amount of $112.00 or $137.00 for offenses committed in a school zone by your court date.
After You’ve Submitted Your Request:
You must obtain your Certified Driving Record (record: 3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety. You must complete a DR-1 form available at texas.gov or you can request your driving record directly from their website.
Complete an approved course for the state of Texas.
You must return to the court your signed Certificate of Course Completion and your Certified Driving Record within 90 days of your court date.
***Failure to complete all requirements within the 90-day period will result in the forfeiting of the money paid to request defensive driving and the original fine will be assessed!
NO EXTENSIONS ARE GRANTED FOR COMPLETION OF COURSE
Municipal Court, 212 Main St., Lake Dallas, Texas 75065 Phone # 940.497.2227 Ext. 119 8:30am to 5:00pm
DRIVE CAREFULLY AND FRIENDLY
***REQUEST YOUR DRIVING RECORD IMMEDIATELY!!!
***DO NOT WAIT FOR DRIVING RECORD TO ENROLL AND COMPLETE THE DEFENSIVE DRIVING COURSE