X hits on this document





12 / 32

Four faculty members (Gene Cho, director; Terri Sundberg,

  • ute; Susan Dubois, viola; and Nikola Ružević, cello) and

six graduate students (Kellie Quijano, clarinet; Michelle Paczut, viola; Samuel Park, violin; Szemoke Jobbagy, violin; Reuben Allred, piano; and Ross Gasworth, cello) traveled to the South China University of Technology to help establish a chamber music program there. While most students at the university focus on preparing for solo careers, many are not familiar with Western chamber music. e College of Music team presented concerts, led workshops, and taught mas- terclasses to instruct students on ensemble performance and collaboration between players. e group also brought along $5,000 worth of music as a gift to the students and faculty to start a chamber music library at the South China University.

  • e project was made possible by a grant from the U.S. State

Department, Cultural Aairs Division.

12 ▪ UNT College of Music

Undergraduate students Kevin Bach and David Winniford and graduate students Li Xiaochuan, Sergio Pamies Rodri- guez, and Sarah Roberts participated in a study abroad trip to Shanghai led by faculty member John Murphy. e group presented workshops and two concerts at East China Nor- mal University; presented a workshop at the JZ School, an independent music school associated with the JZ Jazz Club; visited Shanghai Conservatory; played a set at the Melting Pot jazz club; attended a concert by the Duke Ellington Orches- tra; and visited Expo 2010.

Terri Sundberg, associate professor in the College of Mu- sic, recently obtained a grant for independent researchers to analyze the eectiveness of the Shropshire Music Founda- tion's music education program. e program has demon- strated signicant long-term positive impact on children of war, including higher secondary education graduation rates and college enrollment, but there has not yet been a careful, systematic and longitudinal examination of the program’s eectiveness. Two Priddy Fellows from the College of Music, Carolyn Keyes and Laura Erickson, are involved in the re- search and they started an ocial UNT student organization called “Students for the Shropshire Music Foundation,” simi- lar to a chapter established at the Eastman School of Music.

Document info
Document views120
Page views120
Page last viewedFri Jan 20 02:51:44 UTC 2017