X hits on this document





14 / 32

College of Music students swept the board as finalists and semi- finalists in two categories at the 2010 International Tuba/Euphonium Conference Competition at the University of Arizona, Tucson. Phil Giampietro placed 1st in the Solo Euphonium category, Chris McGinty placed 1st in Euphonium Mock Band category and 2nd in the Solo Artist category, Mai Kokubo placed 3rd in both the Solo Euphonium and Euphonium Band categories. Patrick Nyren was a semi-finalist in both the Solo Euphonium and Euphonium Mock Band categories, Geoff Durbin and Daniel Chapa were semi-finalists in the Solo Euphonium category and Richard Demy was a semi-finalist in the Euphonium Band category. Eight of the eleven tuba players in the competitive Artist All-Star Tuba Ensemble are UNT students: Zack Corpus, Raul Escobedo, George Foster, Andrew Jones, Jesse Orth, De’Marcus Walker, Matthew Wilshire, and Karl Zelle.

2009-2010 Priddy Fellowship recipients (names in bold are College of Music students). Front row: Cara Stroud, Joana Hyatt, Megan DiRienzo; Middle row: Karen Colbert, Elizabeth Langdon, Marcia Keough; Back row: Gerald Ringe, Laura Erickson, Christopher Lee, John Whitaker.

The Priddy Charitable Trust Fellowships in Arts Leadership provide support for students in visual arts and music to pursue graduate study in either the College of Visual Arts and Design or the College of Music. Through a combination of coursework and internships, the Fellows will become influential advocates for the arts and arts education.

14 ▪ UNT College of Music

Mihaela Čuljak (cello) won 3rd prize and a special award to participate in a masterclass with Adelheid Litschauer at the Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria at the International String Competition in Dubrovnik, Croatia.

Robert Dicks (organ) won first prize and the best hymn playing award in the undergraduate division of the San Antonio Organ Competition.

Brad Evans (music theory) was the recipient of the Ralph Vaughan Williams Charterhouse Fellowship to fund a residency to conduct research in England in Summer 2010.

Danny Janklow (saxophone) was named the top jazz saxophone soloist in North America by the North American Saxophone Alliance. The competition was in Athens, Georgia with fifty-eight soloists competing for the top spot.

Vocal jazz major Mikaela Kahn was one of ten finalists in the auditions for the Fox TV show Glee.

Marisa Kelegian (flute) won first place in flute performance in the Oklahoma Flute Society’s Collegiate Competition at the University of Oklahoma.

As a result of being one of the winners in the acclaimed American Protégé International Piano and Strings Competition, doctoral piano student Jisoo (Grace) Kim appeared at Weill Hall in New York’s famed Carnegie Hall in March 2010.

Min Joung Kim was the featured soloist in the Lewisville Lake Symphony’s International Chamber Series performing works by Debussy, Liszt, and

Document info
Document views110
Page views110
Page last viewedTue Jan 17 01:21:08 UTC 2017