X hits on this document





15 / 32

Ravel. She also has performed with the Ulsan University Chamber Orchestra and the St. Petersburg Radio Orchestra.

Jeremy Stones won first prize in the Edward Kleinhammer Orchestral Bass Trombone Competition at the 2010 International Trombone Festival in Austin, Texas. At the same conference, Craig Flentge (middle) won the Donald Yaxley Bass Trombone Competition.

Jennifer Weaver made a presentation titled “The Introduction to Secondary Dominants in Major Keys,” during "The Teaching Component of the Job Interview" panel at the Society for Music Theory Annual Meeting in Montreal.

Ashley Mendeke was selected as the recipient of the 2010-2011 Presser Foundation scholarship recognizing her excellence in music performance and academics. She is completing her bachelor’s degree with a double major in music education and flute performance.

Jeffrey Ou made it into the semi-finals of "America’s Got Talent." As a result of this accomplishment, the City of Carrollton mayor, Ronald F. Brandson, proclaimed Sunday, October 18, 2009 as Jeffrey Ou day.

Sara Tran and Chao Wang were both named winners of the 2010 National Flute Association Masterclass Competition. As a result, they performed at the National Flute Association annual meeting in Anaheim, California in August 2010.

The Perry R. Bass Fellowship for 2009- 2010 was awarded to Sara Sclamberg, a doctoral student in flute performance. The Bass Fellowship is awarded to students pursuing degrees in music with career aspirations in teaching.

The UNT Gamelan ensemble, “Bwana Kumala” was selected as the winner of the first annual PAS World Percussion Ensemble Competition. This competition is designed to recognize excellence in world percussion ensembles.

In February, the UNT Percussion Ensemble was selected as one of the winners of the PAS International Percussion Ensemble Competition and performed at PASIC in Indianapolis. The Ensemble presented a clinic on creating expressive musical phras- ing in percussion ensemble performance at the Texas Music Educators Association Conference in San Antonio. They also were invited to give a special performance at TMEA. This is the first time that one uni- versity has won two prestigious Percussive Arts Society awards.

UNT College of Music ▪ 15

Document info
Document views127
Page views127
Page last viewedSun Jan 22 08:52:40 UTC 2017