X hits on this document





4 / 32

James C. Scott Dean

  • ings are never quiet for our College

of Music, and this past year was no exception as we made important advances in the public dissemination of the creative activity of alumni, faculty, sta, and students. Just a few weeks into the 2010-2011 academic year, the Symphony performed in a special Superbowl Kicko concert at Cowboys Stadium for an audience of over 30,000 and the One O’Clock Lab Band performed three concerts with the Houston Symphony on their pops concert series, again reaching thousands of people. We also succeeded in getting a major and very positive review for our Denton Verdi Requiem performance which had a prestigious encore performance at Bass Hall in Fort Worth. We have also been particularly pleased with the development of live streaming our major concerts from Winspear Hall and now our newly renovated Voertman Hall. We have reached literally thousands of listeners through this advanced technology.

  • ere was also much activity focused on the opening of the

Paul Voertman Concert Hall, known in its earlier life to most of our alumni simply as the Concert Hall. e opening week’s events included the rst of three concerts funded by the National Endowment for the Arts for the presentation of “ree Centuries of American Chamber Music.” ese NEA concerts bring together all periods of performance study, composition, and jazz. e inaugural series also included the rst program of the Jake Heggie Residency supported by the new Institute for the Advancement of the Arts. is residency is already drawing national attention, and will become international in scope when we premiere Heggie’s commissioned symphonic work, Ahab Symphony, with the UNT Symphony Orchestra, Grand Chorus, and soloist tenor Richard Croft in April 2012.

An element that was particularly prominent over this past year, and indicative of our sense of community was the plethora of collaborations between faculty and students. ese collaborations took opera, chamber music, jazz, and early music performances to national and international venues on three continents. e highly professional abilities of UNT students were widely recognized as they played alongside artist faculty members.

Whether through traveling to places nearby or across the world, attracting people to our superlative on-campus venues, or reaching out to the world on the internet, our music is getting heard by new audiences. We hope that all of our readers will enjoy music from UNT as we make it increasingly available.

James C. Scott College of Music

Warren Henry Associate Dean, Academic Aairs

Jon Christopher Nelson Associate Dean, Operations

John C. Scott Associate Dean, Admissions

Raymond Rowell Assistant Dean, Scholarship Services and External Aairs

Lynn Eustis Director, Graduate Studies

Jaymee Haefner Director, Undergraduate Studies

Joseph Klein Composition Studies

Richard Sparks Conducting & Ensembles

John Holt Instrumental Studies

John Murphy Jazz Studies

Jesse Eschbach Keyboard Studies

Debbie Rohwer Music Education

Eileen M. Hayes Music History, eory & Ethnomusicology

Jerey Snider Vocal Studies

Elida Tamez Director of Development

Pam King Director of Development

Document info
Document views129
Page views129
Page last viewedMon Jan 23 01:16:45 UTC 2017