X hits on this document





8 / 32

Joseph Klein was the first College of Music faculty to receive special recognition by the Office of Research and Economic Development as a UNT Distinguished Teaching Professor.

Cindy McTee’s Double Play was premiered by Leonard Slatkin and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 2010 to critical acclaim. She was also named as one of the first faculty fellows of UNT’s Institute for the Advancement of the Arts.

Jerry McCoy conducted the A Cappella Choir in a performance of Orff’s Carmina burana with the Dallas Wind Symphony in Dallas’ Meyerson Symphony Center. He also directed the Schola Cantorum in a performance at First Presbyterian Church in Fort Worth which featured Brahms’ Liebesliede , Opus 52.

Brian Bowman received The Clifford Bevan Award for Meritorious Work in Low Brass to recognize his important life-long research on the euphonium. His CD titled The First Carnegie Hall Euphonium Recital was released by Crystal Records in 2009.

Jeff Bradetich, director of the Bradetich Foundation, presented the inaugural International Double Bass Solo Competition in Summer 2010.

8 ▪ UNT College of Music

Twenty-one double bassists from around the world competed for cash prizes, a New York debut in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, and a CD recording with distribution, concerts, and masterclasses to be conducted in the United States and abroad. The competition included three rounds of performances and one interview round; the winners were chosen by a panel of acclaimed judges, as well as voting by the audience.

Mary Karen Clardy performed and lectured at the XXVth Annual Peruvian Flute Festival in Lima. She also performed at the National Flute Association’s Annual Convention in Anaheim, California and as a guest artist for the Honduras Flute Festival in Tegucigalpa.

Mark Ford performed at the Belgium Days of Percussion Festival hosted by the Royal Conservatory in Belgium and

presented clinics with the Conservatory Percussion Ensemble. He premiered his new marimba solo, Stealing a Moment, at the Katowice Academy of Music in Poland and had his percussion ensemble composition, Marimba Heritage, published by Innovative Percussion. The UNT Percussion Ensemble, led by Ford, released their CD, Vespertine Formations, which features compositions by Christopher Deane and Paul Rennick, and solos by Ed Soph, Deane, and Rennick. For other news of the UNT Percussion Ensemble please see page 15.

James Gillespie (pictured with Hsing- Fang Liu and Aikuang Sun, DMA '06, orchestral conducting) presented masterclasses at two schools in Taiwan and was a featured soloist with the Taipei Philharmonic, conducted by Aikuang Sun. He also performed with the Texas Clarinet Consort and performed alongside colleague John Scott, with the Dallas Wind Symphony Clarinet Choir.

Jaymee Haefner was appointed the new director of undergraduate studies and had several articles published in her “Learning Curve” column for Harp Column magazine. In addition to giving masterclasses throughout Texas, she was a judge for the American Harp Society Competition and performed at various national venues. She also led the UNT Harp Ensemble in a February 2010 performance for Anita Perry, the 1st lady of Texas.

John Holt was appointed chair of the Division of Instrumental Studies for a three-year term. He also had his CD Facets 3: New American Music for Trumpet released by Crystal Records.

Vern Kagarice (fourth from left) was invited to be a member of the jury for the Markneukirchen International Trombone Solo Competition in Germany. He was the only American on the 9-member panel.

Eugene Osadchy, with pianist Anastasia Markina (BMus '04, MM '07, GAC '09, piano) accompanying, released the CD Russian Romances - Joys and

Document info
Document views112
Page views112
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 10:01:42 UTC 2017