X hits on this document





29 / 48

Accounting instructor Brenda Mattison co-authored Horngren’s Accounting, 10th edition, a 1,695-page accounting textbook published by Pearson for Accounting 101 and 102 classes. Her co-authors are Tracie Nobles, an accounting professor at Texas State University and Ella Mae Matsumura, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Brenda also wrote and revised chapters in Horngren’s Financial and Managerial Accounting, fourth edition, which offers a corporate approach with an equal emphasis on financial and managerial accounting.

At the annual meeting of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS), the College’s fifth-year report was approved with nofollow-uprequired. Additionall , the QEP Impact Report was deemed acceptable. The QEP Review Committee was so impressed with the QEP report they asked Tri- County for permission to place the report in the SACS resource center as a model.

The Pre-Pharmacy Advisory Committee was named advisory committee of the year at the College’s annual fall convocation. Advisory Committee members Dr. Danny West, left, and Jim Hammett, far right, accepted the trophy and plaque on behalf of the committee. Pictured with them are, from left, Chemistry Instructor Karen Linscott, Science Department Head Dr. Suzanne Ellenberger, and Dr. Lynn Lewis, dean of the Health Education Division.

English instructor Mary Geren spent the week of September 3 - 7, 2012, in Charlotte, North Carolina, serving as one of 62 South Carolina delegates at the National Democratic Convention. She represented the Third Congressional District.

Thirty students, facult , and staff chartered a bus to attend watch parties set up by the S.C. Democratic Party. “I wanted our students to have this possibly once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and torealizethatthe ,asstudents,canmakeadifference,”saidMar , who is pictured with fellow S.C. delegate John Giles, of Columbia.

Katy Goforth, former Title III activity director and coordinator of the Freshman Seminar, was a recipient of the 2013 On Course Ambassador of the Year Award. Her work to help students become active, responsible, and successful learners was acknowledged at the On Course National Conference April 25-27 in Los Angeles.

Commissioner Helen Rosemond- Saunders was elected to the Diversity Committee of the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). She is among the 10 individuals (two Commission representatives from each region) elected to serve on the committee for two terms.

The Business Affairs Office was awarded a Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting. For the 12th consecutive year, the Division received the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting from the Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA).

The Public Relations and Marketing departments garnered a first-place national award from the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR). The Gold Paragon was awarded in the “Promotion Campaign for a Special Event” category in recognition of the College’s 50th anniversary celebration in 2012. The campaign included all aspects of the year-long celebration, including the anniversary logo, special events, displays, website, and community recognitions, as well as the commemorative book titled Tri-County Technical College: Five Decades of Distinction, written by Lisa Garrett, public relations associate, and designed by Denise Da , graphic designer.

President Ronnie L. Booth was elected to serve as a trustee for two national boards. Dr. Booth serves as a member of the board of trustees of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) Commission on Colleges. Dr. Booth also serves on the board of directors for the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

YourCommuni y,YourCollege| 29

Document info
Document views161
Page views161
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 17:36:59 UTC 2017