X hits on this document





11 / 22

first time in major league history that no-hitters had been thrown in both leagues on the same day.

As you will see, the Athletics have had two outstanding relievers, but the other candidates leave something to be desired. Therefore, I will go with an eighth starter for this roster, and that will be Eddie Rommel (1920-32) who spent his entire career with the Athletics. He won 20+ twice, and 18 in two other seasons. His best year was 1922 when he led the AL in wins with a 27-13 mark. He later led the league again in 1925 with 21 wins. On this fantasy roster, Rommel could serve well as a swing- man too, as he started only 249 of the 500 games he appeared in, entering games in relief increasingly more often in the second half of his career.

But these eight aren't the end of the story. Jack Coombs (1906- 14) was another early tosser for the A's. After four mediocre seasons, he busted out in 1910 to go 31-9, completing 35 of the 38 games he started. He led the league in wins that year, and was second in ERA with a 1.30 mark. He also led the AL in wins the next year, posting a 28-12 record.

Rube Walberg (1923-33) pitched for the Athletics for over a decade, but managed only one 20-win season. He had four others with 16+, but never led the league in any impressive categories (unless you include "leading" the league in the most HR allowed twice). George Earnshaw (1928-33) was a teammate of Walberg’s, and he managed three seasons of 20+ wins (plus one with 19). He paced the AL in wins in 1929 with a 24-8 record.

The next three should be more familiar to most readers. After a fine audition in 2000, Barry Zito (2000-06) became a workhorse for the A's starting 34-35 games every year. His best season was in 2002 when he worked his sweeping curveball well enough to win the AL Cy Young Award after posting a 2.75 ERA and leading the league in wins with a 23- 5 record. Tim Hudson (1999-04) started with the A's one year earlier, but left for the Braves after the 2004 season. In 2000 he went 20-6 and was second in Cy Young votes. And the third in this trio, Mark Mulder (2000- 04) led the league in 2001 in wins with a 21-8 record, and then went 19-7 in 2002.

A few others deserve brief mention, starting with Bob Welch (1988-94). After pitching many years for the Dodgers, be came over to the A's in 1988 and won 17 games that year and the next. Then in 1990 he went bananas and posted a 27-6 record and a 2.95 ERA en route to taking home the Cy Young Award.

Ken Holtzmann (1972-75) only pitched four seasons for the A's, but he was a key part of their championships during that era as he won


Document info
Document views66
Page views66
Page last viewedSun Dec 11 02:58:13 UTC 2016