X hits on this document

PDF document






3 / 6

by Osella, Arrows, Fittipaldi and Minardi, as well as by prestigious teams like Lotus and Brabham. This latter offered Pirelli its first success in France in 1985 with Piquet, twenty- eight years after Moss. Benetton won with Pirelli tyres in Mexico (1986, Gerhard Berger) and Piquet again triumphed in Canada in 1991, which was the last Pirelli victory in the F1 competitions.

The present day and the victories More recently, apart from rallies, Pirelli’s attention has been concentrated on races for prototypes, GT cars, and now, a return to Grand Prix racing as official supplier to GP3.

Pirellis have won endurance races, like the Daytona 24 Hours, and the IMSA Titles, in the mid-nineties with Oldsmobile and Ferrari.

In addition, in 2005/2006 Pirelli was also successful in the GT category with its P Zero tyres. In 2005 it gained victory in the Le Mans Endurance 2005 Series with the Ferrari 550 Maranello of the Italia-BMS Team, and in 2006 with the Porsche 996 GT3-RSR of the AutOrlando Sport team.

In the GT1 class of the FIA-GT Championships, Pirelli obtained 2005 and 2006 Team classifications with the Maserati MC 12, and above all it won the 2006 Drivers’ Title with Bertolini-Bartels.

With the Ferrari 430 GTC, Pirelli won in the GT2 class, commanding respect from both teams and drivers like Jaime Melo. The P Zero Racing tyres fitted on the Aston Martin DBR9M were key in the American Le Mans Series, winning the IMSA Cup and allowing Stéphane Sarrazin to be judged the best new driver of 2006.

The Milan company played an important role in the Ferrari Challenge, thanks to the P Zero Racing tyres used for the various races which took place in Italy, Europe and North America, as well as for the important European GT championships, such as those of France and Italy, for the FIA GT4 Cup and for the Seat Léon Eurocup.

Pirelli is currently the exclusive supplier to many of the world’s most relevant racing series, including the FIA WRC (World Rally Championship), FIA GP3, GRAND-AM’s Rolex Sports Car Series, VW TDI Cup, Pirelli Drivers Cup, Ferrari Challenge, Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo, Maserati Trofeo, Brazilian GT Championship and World Superbike - achieving remarkable results and the support of each series, its teams and very importantly, the fans.

In January 2010 Pirelli swept to victory at the Montecarlo Rally with Mikko Hirvonen’s Ford Fiesta Super 2000, the only car in the event officially fitted with Pirelli tyres. The Finnish star easily overcame road difficulties thanks to Pirelli Winter Sottozero and PZero tyres which, with their versatility and reliability, adapted to all the different conditions, from the ice in the mountain passes to the dry coastal asphalt.

Pirelli debuted in Barcelona on 7-9 May 2010 as the official tyre supplier to GP3, the one- make single-seater series, which has been pitched as a stepping-stone to GP2, a direct feeder category to Formula One.

Designed as a training formula for young and aspiring drivers, the series is made up of nine race weekends, each consisting of a practice and a qualifying session and two races

Document info
Document views23
Page views23
Page last viewedFri Dec 23 00:00:17 UTC 2016