X hits on this document





29 / 89


Out of total strength of 76718 regular employees, around 3264 employees belong to centralized

services and rest 73454 belongs to non-centralized services. Centralized services are transferable, and non- centralized services are non-transferable. The Government of Uttar Pradesh is the appointing authority of centralized services. However, some of its powers have been delegated to Director, Local Bodies U.P. with a view to facilitating proper management of different cadres of the services. So far as non centralized services are concerned, Nagar Ayukta is the appointing authority of Class III&IV employees in Nagar Nigam. In Nagar Palika Parishad and Nagar Panchayat, Chairman is the appointing authority of class III

employees and Executive Officer is the appointing authority of class IV employees.

Democratic Decentralization in UP after74TH Constitutional Amendment

  • 93.

    The Uttar Pradesh Local Self Government Law (Amendment) Act 1994 came into force from

      • 31.05.1994

        , in conformity to that some of the changes made in the municipal laws are highlighted below:-

        • The U.P. Municipal Corporations Act, 1959 and U.P. Municipalities Act. 1916 have been amended and renamed as U.P Nagar Nigam Act, 1959 and U.P. Nagar Palika Act 1916, while the United provinces Town Area Act, 1914 has been repealed.

        • As a result of the aforementioned amendment, three levels of ULBs were created: - (a) Nagar Nigams for large urban areas (b) Nagar Palika Parishads for smaller urban areas (c) Nagar Panchayats for transitional areas.

        • State Election Commission is constituted in 1994 for holding regular election in urban local bodies.

        • After 74th amendment regular election in year 1995, 2000 and 2006 were held.

        • Nagar Nigams were divided in 60-110 wards, smaller urban area in 25-55 wards and transitional are in 10-24 wards.

        • Public representatives are directly elected from each ward.

        • Nagar Pramukhs and Chairpersons of ULBs are now directly elected on the basis of adult franchise by electors in municipal areas. The elections to these positions were held in 1996, 2000 and recently in 2006.

        • Provision of Metropolitan Planning committee has been made in U.P. Nagar Nigam Adhiniyam, 1959

        • Provision of District Planning Committee has been made in U.P Municipalities Act, 1916.

        • Provision of Ward Committee has been made in U.P Municipal Corporation and U.P. Municipalities Act, 1916.

        • The state government constituted first state finance commission (FSFC) in 1994, second SFC in 2000 and third SFC in 2005, which were given the responsibility to make recommendations regarding the distribution of the net proceeds of taxes, duties, tolls and fees levied by the state amongst the ULBs and PRIs.

[ 390 ]

Document info
Document views395
Page views395
Page last viewedTue Jan 24 08:01:11 UTC 2017