X hits on this document





11 / 62

North America Regional Operations


  • For model year 2009, prior to changes in the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety ratings system for 2010, Honda and Acura had ten models — more than any other automaker — that achieved both a five-star crash safety rating from the federal government (NHTSA) in frontal and side crash tests and a ‘Top Safety Pick’ rating from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). This included all Acura models, making Acura the first automotive nameplate to earn top crash safety ratings for all models in both government and IIHS testing.

  • In model year 2006, American Honda fulfilled the largest component of its “Safety for Everyone” initiative, launched in October 2003, by applying a core suite of advanced safety technologies — including anti-lock brakes, and front, side and side-curtain airbags — to virtually all* new Honda and Acura vehicles sold in North America.

  • The company has sought to lead in addressing compatibility between small and larger vehicles with its Advanced Compatibility Engineering™ (ACE™) body structure, applied to 19 of the 21 Honda and Acura models sold in the U.S. for model year 2010.

  • To help address the issue of pedestrian safety, all of the company’s model year 2008 and newer automobiles come equipped with features to mitigate pedestrian injury, such as specially designed hoods and front frames, and breakaway wiper pivots. More than nine million Honda and Acura vehicles on the road in the United States today feature pedestrian-friendly safety designs.

  • *

    All new Honda and Acura models sold in the U.S., except the open-top S2000 roadste , which

does not apply side curtain airbags. The S2000 was discontinued for model year 2010.




  • American Honda and its motorsports subsidiary, Honda Performance Development (HPD), have constructed an unparalleled resume at the pinnacle levels of U.S. motorsports, including four Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART) manufacturers’ and six drivers’ championships; six IndyCar manufacturers’ and drivers’ championships; and 2009 championships by Acura in the LMP1 and LMP2 categories of the American Le Mans Series (ALMS).

  • In 2010, American Honda and HPD will participate in the IZOD IndyCar Series; the American and European Le Mans Series; the SPEED World Challenge; the Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge, and in SCORE Desert Series off-road racing.

  • In addition to those activities, in July 2009, HPD announced a broad-based initiative to expand its presence in the grassroots motorsports market, including the development of products and services that support competition in the club and entry-level professional ranks, as well as integrated marketing activities designed to raise the profile of Honda Racing and HPD.

Document info
Document views213
Page views213
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 14:38:32 UTC 2017