X hits on this document





136 / 257

Commission looks forward to developing a Forest Cutting Plan to implement some of the treatment practices outlined in the plan.

In early August of 2008, the Conservation Agent, in conjunction with the Grand Trunk Trail Blazers, applied for a grant from the American Hiking Society to improve trails at the Camp Robinson Crusoe/Leadmine Mountain Property and create a 1.8-mile Handicapped Accessible trail. In April of 2009, grant funds in the amount of $5,000 were awarded to the Town and the Grand Trunk Trail Blazers. Grant funds have been used for the purchase of gravel. Work implementing the trail improvements will proceed in 2010 as planned in cooperation with the Grand Trunk Trail Blazers and associated town committees.

Heins Farm Conservation Land In March of 2008, the Conservation Commission issued an Order of Conditions for trails work on the Hein’s Farm Conservation Land. The work approved in the permit included the rerouting of several trails, the improvement of existing trails, relocation of a wetland crossing and the construction of two new wetland crossings. Volunteers have worked throughout the year toward completing the trail construction. The trails on the property include the Pond Loop Trail, the Cabin Loop Trail, and the Stafford Turnpike Trail. Volunteers have marked boundaries on the property and work on the trails is expected to be complete in early 2010. All labor and materials were donated.

The Conservation Commission is always interested in expanding its base through associate members, interns and volunteers (for lake monitoring, trails volunteers, etc.). You can find more information on the Conservation Commission and projects on Open Space lands on the Town web page. The web page continues to be a work in progress and information is added and/or updated regularly. Your feedback, comments, and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. You can find the Sturbridge Conservation Commission’s web page at: www.town.sturbridge.ma.us and then click Conservation on the Department Directory.

Respectfully submitted, CONSERVATION COMMISSION

David Barnicle, Chairman Edward Goodwin Donna Grehl Jeff Bonja Wendy Lilly-Hansen Calvin Montigny, Associate Member Joseph Kowalski, Associate Member


Document info
Document views775
Page views775
Page last viewedWed Jan 18 02:14:40 UTC 2017