X hits on this document





155 / 257

RECOMMENDATION OF THE BOARD OF SELECTMEN: That the Town appropriate the sum of THREE HUNDRED FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS ($305,000) to be expended under the direction of the School Building Committee for the purpose of paying costs of architectural and engineering fees for design, project management, surveys, geotechnical investigations, owner’s related expenses and contingency costs associated with remodeling, reconstructing and making extraordinary repairs to the Burgess Elementary School, located at 45 Burgess School Road, Sturbridge, Massachusetts (the “Project”); and that to meet said appropriation authorize the Town Treasurer, with the approval of the Selectmen, to borrow said sum under M.G.L. Chapter 44, or any other enabling authority, provided that the Town acknowledges that the Massachusetts School Building Authority’s grant program is a non-entitlement, discretionary program based on need, as determined by the MSBA, and any project costs the Town incurs in excess of any grant approved by and received from the MSBA shall be the sole responsibility of the Town, provided further that any grant that the Town may receive from the MSBA for the Project shall not exceed the lesser of (1) fifty-one percent (51 %) of eligible, approved project costs, as determined by the MSBA, or (2) the total maximum grant amount determined by the MSBA, and further provided that the amount of borrowing authorized pursuant to this motion shall be reduced by any amounts received or expected to be received from the MSBA. Voted 5-0.

VOTE OF THE TOWN MEETING: The vote of the Town Meeting was to approve the article as recommended by the finance committee by a 2/3rds majority as declared by the Moderator.

At 7:05 pm, Moderator Michael Caplette called the Town Meeting to order. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all, followed by a moment of silence for all the military personnel that made the ultimate sacrifice serving our country; the number standing at 4,225. He asked that all remain standing for a moment of silence for those who passed

since our last town meeting.

Remembered were Wayne Hall Morse, Frances G.

Kosakowski and Harold A. Heins.

He asked all non-voting members to stand and be recognized and that they sit right where they were sitting. He also asked everyone to note all fire exits.

The Moderator said he was satisfied with the return of service of the warrant and not to read each article, but that we would be voting on the recommendation of the Finance Committee unless there was a substitute motion. These motions were seconded and passed unanimously.

At the highest point of the meeting, there were 196 voters at the meeting (which quickly reduced after the vote on the first article).

Constable Cheryl Economos was on duty for the evening. Checkers for the evening were Chris Wilson, Heather Hall, Elaine Cook and Timothy Bardsley.


Document info
Document views818
Page views818
Page last viewedThu Jan 19 15:28:48 UTC 2017