X hits on this document





10 / 50

The Academic Degree Committee of the State Council authorizes the Chinese Service Center for Scholarly Exchange (CSCSE) to take charge of foreign degrees accreditation. The Chinese government upholds that mutual recognition of studies, diplomas and degrees in higher education is of great importance. As a signatory to the UNESCO Convention on Recognition of Studies, Diplomas and Degrees in Higher Education, China actively develops bilateral agreements. It has signed cooperation agreements with 27 countries.


Emil Paul scherrring

Apostolic Nuncio to Korea Holy See, Seoul, South Korea

The educational system of the Holy See is quite unique, in as much as there are only two educational institutions within the legal borders of the Vatican. The first is the ecclesiastical universities and faculties, or ecclesiastical higher education institutions (EHEIs), and the second, Catholic universities, colleges and other institutions of higher learning (CUCs).

EHEIs constitute the “national” higher education system of the Holy See, and their mission is to cultivate and promote, through scientific research, disciplines that concern Christian revelation and related questions. CUCs, on the other hand, are established in seventy countries. They teach and carry out research common to all universities, but within the context of the Christian faith, and in accordance with the educational structure in their respective countries. With an international mandate, the Holy See is a transnational education provider in higher education. It has 186 ecclesiastical and Catholic universities around the world.

The Congregation for Catholic Education is responsible for all aspects and levels of education for the Holy See as defined in theApostolic Constitution Pastor Bonus (articles 112-116). The Congregation is headed by a cardinal-prefect, and is composed of an international commission of 26 cardinals and 3 archbishops. In response to the reform initiated by the Bologna Process, preparatory work to establish an independent agency of the Holy See for external quality assurance began in 2005.

The Holy See’s higher education system was introduced in 1979 by the legislation of theApostolic Constitution Sapientia Christiana. It consists of three cycles: baccalaureate (first cycle), licentiate (second cycle) and doctorate (third cycle).

The Holy See adopted the European Credit Transfer Scheme (ECTS) in 2004, and is gradually implementing it. The Holy See has also moved to implement the Diploma Supplement (DS) in accordance with the Lisbon Recognition Convention. It has been legally authorized and is applicable to all academic institutions and all programmes.


Ninth Session of the Regional Committee

Document info
Document views187
Page views187
Page last viewedSun Jan 22 06:19:21 UTC 2017