X hits on this document





29 / 50

Revision of the Arusha Convention for African States

Goolam Mohamedbhai

President of International Association of Universities (IAU) Rose Hill, Mauritius

Professor Mohamedbhai explained that the Regional Convention for African States was adopted in Arusha, Tanzania, in 1981, and is thus known as the Arusha Convention. To date, there are some 21 signatories out of 53 African countries. The secretariat is based at the UNESCO Regional Office in Dakar.

Proposals to amend theArusha Convention were approved by the Regional Committee in 2003, but effective steps towards implementation were taken only in 2006. Mohamedbhai highlighted the issues identified for inclusion in the revised version, and described the plan of action and the revision process. He mentioned that the revisedArusha Convention had yet to be approved by African education ministers. Based on these experiences, he concluded with some suggestions for revising the Asia-Pacific convention.

Building Bridges for Asian Education

Yao Wang

Secretary-General of the Secretariat of the Boao Forum for Asia Beijing International Conference Centre Beijing, China

Mr. Yao Wang introduced the work of his organization, the Boao Forum for Asia, which was organized in 1998 by respected past presidents and education ministers of selected countries in Asia and the Pacific.

Boao Education Forum for Asia has grown to support active educational exchange programmes between and among nations, and has spearheaded regional and sub-regional fora on various issues in education and training. It has also implemented bilateral and multilateral programmes that encourage better mobility of people across Asia and the Pacific.

Ninth Session of the Regional Committee


Document info
Document views196
Page views196
Page last viewedMon Jan 23 03:37:45 UTC 2017