WHAT IS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE?
Under the provisions of Section 741.28 of the Florida Statutes, domestic violence means any
kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal offense resulting in physical injury or death of one family or household member by another family or household member.
A family or household members are spouses, former spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, persons who are presently residing together as if a family or who have resided together in the past as if a family, and persons who are parents of a child in common regardless of whether they have been married.
With the exception of persons who have a child in common, the family or household members must be currently residing or have in the past resided together in the same single
Domestic Violence includes:
Physical Abuse—Pushing, slapping, punching, choking, and beating
intimidation, following and stalking, or acting
out in anger
touching or forcing of someone to engage in a sexual act against his or her will
WHAT IS REPEAT VIOLENCE?
Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the Florida Statutes, repeat violence means two incidents of violence or stalking one of which must have been within 6 months of filing a petition and must have been directed against the petitioner or the petitioner’s immediate family member.
WHAT IS DATING VIOLENCE?
Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the Florida Statutes, dating violence is violence between individuals who have or have had a continuing and significant relationship of a romantic or intimate nature. The existence of such a relationship shall be determined based on the consideration of the following factors:
A dating relationship must have existed
within the past 6 months;
The nature of the relationship must have
been characterized by the expectation of affection or sexual involvement between the parties; and
The frequency and type of interaction
between the persons involved in the relationship must have included that the persons have been involved over time and on a continuous basis during the course of the relationship.
The term does not include
violence in a
individuals who only in ordinary fraternization
have in a
business or social context.
WHAT IS SEXUAL VIOLENCE?
Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the
Florida Statutes, incident of
Sexual battery, as defined in chapter 794;
A lewd or
chapter 800, presence of a
lascivious act, as defined in committed upon or in the person younger than 16 years
described in chapter 827; or
Any other forcible felony wherein a sexual
act is committed or attempted, regardless of
incident were filed, the state attorney.
WHAT DOES THE LAW MEAN?
You have the right to ask the State Attorney to file a criminal complaint, and you have the right to go to court and file a petition requesting an injunction for protection against domestic violence, repeat violence,
dating violence, or sexual violence if you are
The victim of domestic violence, repeat
violence, dating violence, or sexual violence,
The parent of any minor child living at
home who is seeking an injunction for protection against domestic violence, repeat violence, dating violence, or sexual violence, OR
If you have reasonable cause to believe,
you or your minor child is in imminent danger of becoming the victim of any act of domestic violence.
This may include, but need not be limited to provisions that
Restrain the abuser from further acts of
Direct the abuser to leave your household
Prevent the abuser from being within 500
feet of your residence, school, business, or place of employment
Award you custody of your minor child or
Direct the abuser to pay support to you
and the minor child or children if the abuser has a legal obligation to do so
For safety reasons, you may furnish your address to the court in a separate confidential filing when filing the petition for injunction.
residence or household where you are a victim of domestic violence. Your address may be different from that of your partner without penalty.
HOW CAN THE LAW HELP ME?
If you have been a victim of domestic violence,
violence, or if you are afraid that you will be hurt, Florida’s domestic violence law enables you to work with the court system to help keep you safe. Contact your local domestic violence center for safety planning prior to filing for an injunction. The Clerk of the Court is required to assist you in seeking both injunctions for protection and enforcement for a violation of an injunction. Representation by an attorney is not required of either party as per Section 741.30(1)(f) of the Florida Statutes. Go to the Clerk of the Court’s Office in your county courthouse.
Bring information about where the abuser can
Bring any other information on the abuser, such as photos or identification.
Bring any papers relating to your case.
Tell the clerk that you are interested in filing a petition for injunction for protection against domestic violence, repeat violence, dating violence, or sexual violence.
The court clerk will help you in filing the proper paperwork. By filling out these forms, you will be explaining to the judge exactly what type of protection you need and from whom you need protection.
After you have completed the paperwork, the court may determine that danger of domestic violence exists. The court may order a temporary injunction, which is good for 15 days. Then a full hearing is held to consider your safety and the safety of your children.
The abuser must be served with the injunction before it becomes effective. The injunction will tell the abuser what the judge requires and when to return to court for a hearing. This hearing will be within 15 days unless the abuser cannot be served.
You are able to request notification of service of the injunction and receive notice automatically within 12 hours after the injunction is served.