It is important for you to attend the hearing so that you can make sure the judge understands exactly what help you need and why. If you do not attend, usually the judge will end the injunction.
After the hearing, a final injunction may be granted. The final injunction is valid until dissolved or amended by the court.
WHAT DO I DO IF THE ABUSER VIOLATES THE INJUNCTION?
You will receive a copy of the injunction. Keep it with you at all times.
If the abuser violates the conditions of an
injunction, call the police right away.
The abuser may be arrested.
If the abuser is arrested, he/she will be held
until the court determines bail.
The judge will consider your safety and the
safety of your children.
You may go to court if you wish.
The court may order penalties as allowed by
If the injunction has been violated, report the violation to the Clerk of the Circuit Court only if law enforcement states it cannot issue an arrest warrant, or issue a notice to appear because there is no criminal violation. Report the violation in the county where the violation occurred and complete an affidavit in support of the violation. The judge will determine what action should be taken for your safety and the safety of your children. Under the provisions of Section 741.315(2), Florida Statutes, if you have an out of state court order for protection against domestic violence, federal and state law provides that law enforcement recognize and act on the protections in the order as if issued by a Florida court, as long as the issuing court gave the accused the opportunity for a hearing before issuing the order. This includes orders issued by courts from the District of Columbia, Indian tribes, commonwealth territories, or possessions of the United States.
EXEMPTION FROM PUBLIC INSPECTION
Under the provisions of Section 119.071(2)(j) of the Florida Statutes any information which reveals the home or employment telephone number, home or employment address, or
personal assets of victim of sexual who has been the aggravated child a person battery , stalking, abuse, aggravated harassment,
aggravated battery, or domestic violence is
exempt from examination.
You must make a written request and provide official verification, such as a law enforcement report, to the custodian of the records that an applicable crime has occurred. Such information shall remain exempt for 5 years, after which it will become available to the public.
WHOM SHOULD I TALK TO FOR MORE INFORMATION?
Florida Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-500-1119 (For legal assistance hit prompt #3)
Florida Abuse Hotline 1-800-962-2873 (To file confidential reports of child abuse)
National Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-422-4453 (24 hour help line which provides crisis counseling, information and referrals)
National Domestic Violence Hotline 1-800-799-7233
National Teen Dating Abuse Hotline 1-866-331-9474
YOUR CASE INFORMATION
Law Enforcement Agency
Date of Report
(Insert local contact numbers here)
(Insert the area domestic violence center name & phone number here)
(Insert the area certified rape crisis center name & phone number here)
Notice of Legal Rights and Remedies for Victims of Domestic Violence, Dating Violence, Repeat Violence, Sexual Violence
IT ISN’T JUST WRONG. IT’S A CRIME.
DID YOU KNOW?
In Florida, a person is killed by a family
member every 36 hours.
Domestic Violence is the leading cause
of injury to women.
More than 124,000 incidents of domestic
violence are reported in Florida each year, involving victims young and old, male and female.
YOU HAVE RIGHTS. KNOWING YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND OPTIONS IS THE FIRST STEP TOWARD ENDING ABUSE.
(**English**) Revised 07/01/2011