Located 12 miles north of downtown San Diego and 110 miles south of Los Angeles, the 98-room La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club is one of only two beachfront properties in the exclusive La Jolla Shores section of La Jolla, a Pacific Coast enclave known for its picturesque beaches, underwater parks, university, oceanographic institute, aquarium and museums. The Club has been the site of numerous amateur and professional tennis tournaments since the 1940s, attracting top tennis professionals from around the world. Resting on 14 acres, the Club is adjacent to San Diego/La Jolla Underwater Park, a 600-acre ecological refuge bounded by Torrey Pines State Park on the north and Alligator Head on the south. A palm-tree-lined drive leads from the Club's private entrance to the porte-cochere and main lobby, passing by a wildlife lagoon, nine-hole Par-3 golf course and tennis complex.
With its original structure built in 1927, the Club resembles a picturesque Spanish-style hacienda, revealing an architecture of light-brown, adobe-textured exteriors, red-tile walkways and low-slung canopy roofs. The rooms, many of which are only a few feet from the lapping surf at high tide, include standard hotel rooms, cottages, one-bedroom studios with kitchens, and one-, two- and three- bedroom suites with living rooms and fully equipped kitchens.
Originally opened in 1927 as the La Jolla Beach & Yacht Club, Frederick William Kellogg (known as F.W. Kellogg) purchased the property on August 19, 1935, transferring all of its assets to himself and his wife, Florence Scripps Kellogg. Recognizing the Club’s potential, F.W. Kellogg envisioned an oceanfront resort that would attract out-of-town visitors, as well as La Jollan’s.
Kellogg broadened the Club’s appeal by changing the emphasis to that of an exclusive oceanfront tennis resort. He built four tennis courts and an Olympic- sized swimming pool, and promptly renamed the resort the La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club. To attract out-of-town guests, he constructed the “Beach Club Apartments” at the south end of the property. Kellogg continued to expand the property, building a cofferdam to protect oceanfront apartments during construction. The dam later became the foundation for the Marine Room, an oceanfront restaurant and lounge just south of the Club.
Kellogg never lived to see the opening of the Marine Room; he died on September 4, 1940, while on a trans-Pacific cruise to Japan. The responsibility for managing the Club fell to his son William Scripps Kellogg (know as W.S. Kellogg).
In 1967, the Kellogg family began work on the Sea Lodge Hotel (which was renamed La Jolla Shores Hotel in 2007), a companion property located on two acres just north of the Club. Opened in 1970, the 128-room hotel is adjacent to Kellogg Park, a seven-acre public beachfront park donated to the city of San Diego in 1951 by Florence Scripps Kellogg, the mother of William S. Kellogg.
The La Jolla Beach & Tennis Club consists parlor, two fairway cottages, 18 studios with bedroom suites with living room, one or equipped kitchens each have a refrigerator,
of 98 units -- 14 hotel-style rooms, one kitchens and 55 one-, two- and three- two baths and a kitchen. The fully oven, microwave, coffee-maker and all
utensils and dishes.
The two facilities
fairway cottages include a kitchen, living are available on site and dry-cleaning